Disco 2000 – CanCon

4 April 2008 at 4:47 pm 4 comments

Ciao Bloggisti!!

I am sooo glad this week is over. The hubster was away on business and it was no easy task working, momming and blogging all on my own. But now that it’s Friday and Mimmo’s on his way back, it’s time to let my hair down. I started celebrating this afternoon by having a couple of glasses of Spanish red wine with my lunch and now I’m ready for some music.

I’ve been feeling a little homesick of late and thought it would be the right time to put some Canadian content in this blog. We do have quite the music scene going on right now. But since I’m out of the loop these days, I asked my good pal Sue to give me the heads up on new Canuck music.

She made a number of suggestions, the first one being a group from Montreal called Mobile. They won the New Group of the Year award at last year’s Juno’s (the Canadian Grammy’s) and one of their songs was featured in the film Bon Cop, Bad Cop.

Sue also said good things about Tokyo Police Club from the rockin’ town of Newmarket, On. And of course there’s always iPod fave Feist .

But ya know, I’m feeling just too old and nostalgic today and I’m hankering for something that will take me back to a simpler time. A time of shoulder pads and wristbands.

Ladies and gentlemen (are there any men that read this blog, btw?), I give you Northern Lights! They were our Band Aid, our USA for Africa. They were the great (only?) Canadian supergroup and in 1985 they recorded Tears Are Not Enough. Ok, it’s a bit cheesy but it was for a good cause and it always gives me goosebumps. Can you recognize any of the singers? I’ll send you a nanaimo bar if you can name at least 10.

And since it’s such a lovely sunny day, here are Puglia’s favourite son’s Negramaro. Estate is the perfect song to get you thinking about summer.  And yes, it’s a washable marker.

Buon weekend!!!!!!

Entry filed under: Disco 2000, Entertainment, Music.

Election Cavolate!* Picture it!

4 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Joanne  |  4 April 2008 at 10:54 pm

    Gordon Lightfoot, Anne Murray, Neil Young, Brian Adams, Corey Hart, Burton Cummings, Joni Mitchell, Mike whatshisname from Loverboy (looking fat and bloated), Stompin Tom Connors, Bruce Cockburn, Getty Lee – dude from Platinum Blonde ….. is it a bad thing that I could do that?
    😎

    Reply
  • 2. milanesemasala  |  6 April 2008 at 6:47 pm

    Jo – Don’t be ashamed. Be proud!!!!

    Reply
  • 3. Cherrye  |  7 April 2008 at 10:58 am

    Ha! No candy for me! I can’t name any. I do like Michael Buble’, though…I think he is from Canada!

    Reply
  • 4. milanesemasala  |  7 April 2008 at 11:19 pm

    Cherrye – Yes, he’s a Canuck alright!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


MyFreeCopyright.com Registered & Protected
April 2008
S M T W T F S
« Mar   May »
 12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
27282930  

Recent Posts

Pages

Blog Stats

  • 132,396 hits
Expat Women - Helping Women Living Overseas

Bookmark Milanese Masala

© Linda George and Milanese Masala, 2008-2009. Unauthorized use and/or duplication of this material without express and written permission from this blog’s author and/or owner is strictly prohibited. Excerpts and links may be used, provided that full and clear credit is given to Linda George and Milanese Masala with appropriate and specific direction to the original content.

Twitter Updates


