Music Rocks My World

30 May 2008 at 4:21 pm 7 comments

Ciao Bloggisti!

 

Do you believe in the power of music? I sure do even if my musical background leaves little to be desired. I grew up listening to the painful sounds of Malayalam movie music and easy listening stations. Christopher Cross anyone? My piano career never went further than a halting version of the Mexican Hat Dance. My first taste of musical freedom arrived in the form of a cat (and no it’s not an acid flashback). I got a cat-shaped radio when I was 10 and I could finally listen to the stations of my choice. The world of 80s music soon opened up to me and I was listening to everything from Michael Jackson to Duran Duran.

In high school I was in a bit of a musical haze. Hard rock and so-called preppy music didn’t appeal to me. Then one day I saw the documentary “The Compleat Beatles” and it literally blew my mind away. Could sounds like that truly exist? How could such energy, genius and beauty be concentrated in one group? It was the start of a love affair that continues to this day. And today is very special for me because I will be making my first “pilgrimage” to Liverpool to see Sir Paul McCartney’s homecoming concert in celebration of “Liverpool Capital of Culture”. Tonight, when I touch down at John Lennon International Airport I’m sure I’ll be more than a little emotional. I will also be meeting up with two of my best friends from elementary and high school who are flying in from North America. How cool is that?

So of course, here are a couple of videos to help kick off this very special weekend. The first needs no introduction.

 

 

The second, Maybe I’m Amazed,  is one of Paul McCartney’s most beautiful love songs. And it’s a sweet video to boot.

 

 So, what are your favourite Beatle songs and which music changed your life? I’d love to know.

 

Have a fab weekend everyone!

 

 

Entry filed under: Liverpool, Music, The Beatles, Travel.

Our Paul Cooks for the Bratty Bambino Liverpool – Beautiful Night

7 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Beatriz  |  31 May 2008 at 7:49 am

    You are going to have so much fun! Enjoy the music and the friendship.
    BTW I have to head back to the States on the 7th, I am free Friday though, any chances you’ll go the 6th? Have fun if I do not see you.

    Hi Beatriz! Just got back from Liverpool. It was great! Unfortunately we’re still going out on the 7th. But we’ll try and arrange another get-together when you’re in town. Promise!

    Reply
  • 2. Joanne  |  31 May 2008 at 11:34 am

    Have the best time, remember my parting words at Duomo!
    Thanks Jo!

    Reply
  • 3. nyc/caribbean ragazza  |  1 June 2008 at 10:30 am

    I can’t pick one favorite but I do agree with you that “Maybe I’m Amazed” is a beautiful love song.

    Paul didn’t sing that one on Sunday but it was an amazing concert.

    Reply
  • 4. Frances  |  1 June 2008 at 8:58 pm

    You’ve reminded me of my first ever radio.
    It was so cool to be able to pick any station I wanted.
    My first compact was cat shaped.
    It had eye shadows and lip gloss.
    Funny how reading your post opened up so many memories for me.
    Hope you and yours are well.
    Thanks for being part of the group 🙂

    Thanks so much Frances! Hey, did you have an Avon compact? When I was a kid I had a compact in the shape of a fried egg with lip gloss inside. I loved it so!

    Reply
  • 5. anne  |  6 June 2008 at 11:46 pm

    So pleased you had a good time..I knew I had read someone’s blog about going to the concert…:-)

    It was amazing, Anne. I can’t wait to take my daughter to see Paul when she’s old enough (and if he’s not too old to play!)

    Reply
  • 6. Kristen  |  16 June 2008 at 9:15 pm

    Hey Linda… Favourite Beatles song? Goodness, that’s tough. I signed my marriage license to our hired guitarist strumming “Julia” in the background. I went through a huge White Album phase when I thought it was the greatest work of art ever made. And seeing Across the Universe a few months ago reacquainted me with the beauty and simplicity of their songs, and their emotional punch. I cried so many times.
    When in doubt, there’s always “Why don’t we do it in the road?”
    Ciao!
    Kristen

    Hey Kristen! Thanks so much for leaving a comment. I love getting feedback from my pals! And my Beatle-lovin’ pals are the coolest. At my wedding I told the DJ to play Beatle songs all the time and instead he put on Stars on 45 with horrible cover versions. I wanted to kill him! Still haven’t seen Across the Universe but I’ve heard good things.

    Reply
  • 7. khomala  |  25 August 2008 at 4:23 pm

    Oooh.. u’re a Beatle fan too! They’re brilliant. I fell in love with them when i was 12! I think I’d have cried buckets at the sheer emotional weight of being in the presence of Paul. Lucky you! I must someday make my pilgrimage too…

    Well let’s see.. my favourite has got to be a toss up between “Something” and “For No One”. But honestly, if i could, i’d choose all of their stuff 🙂

    You’ve got to go to Liddypool. It’s worth it!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


MyFreeCopyright.com Registered & Protected
May 2008
S M T W T F S
« Apr   Jun »
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
25262728293031

Recent Posts

Pages

Blog Stats

  • 132,396 hits
Expat Women - Helping Women Living Overseas

Bookmark Milanese Masala

© Linda George and Milanese Masala, 2008-2009. Unauthorized use and/or duplication of this material without express and written permission from this blog’s author and/or owner is strictly prohibited. Excerpts and links may be used, provided that full and clear credit is given to Linda George and Milanese Masala with appropriate and specific direction to the original content.

Twitter Updates


