Liverpool – Beautiful Night

8 June 2008 at 1:10 am 2 comments

“I don’t know what to say. Every time I come up to Liverpool, all the memories come flooding back.” Sir Paul McCartney, Anfield Stadium, Liverpool, 1 June 2008


Well, Paul wasn’t the only one overwhelmed by the experience at Anfield. I’ve seen a few concerts over the years, The Stones, Bowie, Foo Fighters, Santana, the Who, to name a few. But last week’s Liverpool Sound concert in celebration of the city as European Capital of Culture was mindblowingly special. I mean, the fact I was seeing Paul McCartney perform in his hometown was incredible for me. As I mentioned in previous posts, I’m a huge Beatles fan so I just had to see him in Liverpool. But to see a musical genius at work was thrilling. He truly is going through his second renaissance. His voice was great, he played the bass, mandolin, piano and ukelele and he had a warm and easy rapport with the audience, telling stories as if he were sitting by the fireplace with old friends. You could also see how moved he was by playing in front of his fellow Scousers. It must have been incredible for the boy from Speke to see 36,000 of his people all there for him, singing his songs at the top of their voices.

It was also an historic moment for me personally as I was able to meet up with two of my best friends, one who lives in NY state and the other in Toronto. The stars must have aligned right on time because for all three of us to meet in Liverpool just for the weekend was a cosmic event. I never would have imagined when I proposed going to the concert as a lark in January that it would have actually happened. And I’m so happy it did!!

It’s hard for me to pick my favourite moments but one highlight has got to be Paul’s tribute to his old schoolmate George Harrison. It nearly moved me to tears:

I can’t tell you how touching it was to hear him sing George’s song. It was as if Paul was sending his old pal a message from home. And we all joined in, singing our hearts out. Major goosebump time.

Another great moment was when Dave Grohl (one of my faves!) joined Sir Paul onstage for an electrifying rendition of Band on the Run:

Ah, grungy Wings! Gotta love it. And gotta laugh at my friend’s description of Grohl as a modern-day Jacques Brel. His face not his singing, bien sûr.

Anyway, fantastic concert, wonderful man. Paul, I’m not single but if you’re ever in Milan and want to go out for a kickass vegetarian risotto, call me.

So much more to say about my visit to Liverpool. I loved the city and the people! Will tell more in the coming days.

Ciao!!!

Entry filed under: Entertainment, Liverpool, Music, The Beatles.

Music Rocks My World Liverpool – Two Thumbs Up!

2 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Sue  |  8 June 2008 at 7:08 pm

    Ahhh!! As the French would say, “C’est Awesome!” 🙂

    I had a fantastic time! It was a fantastic concert! The people are great! And as my love for the Beatles is probably a bit less fanatic than yours, I do have a fine appreciation of them. How could you not? I did grew up with mostly 50’s music, pre-Beatles (I thought “Crazy Love” by Paul Anka was tragic). But my parents (or maybe my aunts and uncles) did get “Yesterday” as well as “She Loves Me.” (Koreans like the “yeah yeah yeah’s”). One day, I’ll compile a list of my favourites for you… but then, it would be like preaching to the converted! 😉

    I wish the weekend was longer but the time I had was a blast! We’ll do it again!!! It’s not too late… It’s.. not too late…! 🙂

    Ha! No, it’s not too late. I’m so happy you came!! And I’m glad you weren’t Beatled-out by the whole Liverpool experience. It was a super concert (despite that wanker beside you).
    Make that list of your fave songs, pls. I can never get bored of the Beatles!!

    Reply
  • 2. Erin  |  9 June 2008 at 4:39 pm

    Wow, what a show to be able to see! And your friends coming out to see it with you, that must have been absolutely fabulous! If you ever need someone to come meet you for a great concert…I’d be happy to oblige : )

    Yeah, it was pretty cool! The Police and Alanis are going to be in Venice soon. You coming??

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


MyFreeCopyright.com Registered & Protected
June 2008
S M T W T F S
« May   Jul »
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
2930  

Recent Posts

Pages

Blog Stats

  • 132,396 hits
Expat Women - Helping Women Living Overseas

Bookmark Milanese Masala

© Linda George and Milanese Masala, 2008-2009. Unauthorized use and/or duplication of this material without express and written permission from this blog’s author and/or owner is strictly prohibited. Excerpts and links may be used, provided that full and clear credit is given to Linda George and Milanese Masala with appropriate and specific direction to the original content.

Twitter Updates


