Liverpool – Two Thumbs Up!

9 June 2008 at 8:16 pm 4 comments

Ciao Bloggisti!

When I was in Liverpool last week my friend Val asked me if I remembered our “Master Plan”. I had no idea what she was talking about so she jogged my memory. We were major Beatle freaks in high school and way back in 1989, when we were about to leave for our school trip to Paris, we came up with a brilliant idea. We were going to have one free day in Paris where we could do anything we wanted. So we planned to go to the nearest train station, hop on a train to Calais, take the ferry to Dover and catch a train to Liverpool to finally make our pilgrimage to Beatleland! Then we were going to head back to Paris that night, hopefully before our teachers found out. Perfect plan, eh? Needless to say we didn’t follow through with our Master Plan and I think I ended up meeting my husband on my free day instead. Ah, destiny plays funny tricks sometimes!

It took me almost 20 years but I finally fulfilled my dream of seeing Liverpool. Since it is European Capital of Culture this year, I thought it would be the perfect time to visit. And of course there was the mother of all concerts, PAUL MCCARTNEY AT ANFIELD, that I wrote about in my previous post.

Liverpool truly is a wonderful city and the people were so warm, funny and helpful. And of course, there’s THAT accent. OMG! Now, I’m a sucker for English accents in general but hearing those unmistakably musical and adenoidal Scouse tones sent me into a tizzy!! I could go on and on but I think I’ll show you a few highlights instead. Pictures are courtesy of my pal Sue:

Here’s a view of Liver Building and the Town Hall as seen from Albert Dock. Albert Dock also houses the Liverpool Tate which has a very interesting Klimt exhibition going on right now.

Local treats! The sugar mice and the pink chocolate pigs look particularly inviting.

Bad Statues in Liverpool: variations on a theme

Bad statue No. 1: a “gargoyle” of Paul McCartney outside the Hard Day’s Night hotel. With that mullet he looks more like KC of Sunshine fame.

Bad statue No. 2: that’s me sniffing the statue of John “gianthead” Lennon on Mathew Street. My friend Val looks on in disgust.

Bad statue No. 3: Arthur Dooley’s famous statue celebrating the “Four Lads Who Shook the World”. I have to admit it gave me the creeps. I’ve seen cheerier statues in cemeteries. It depicts a sort of Madonna holding four cherubs who are supposed to represent the Beatles. The mysterious thing is that Baby Paul went missing in 1975. Luckily they found him and only need some mud to put that cherub back up there. Read here for the bizarre story.

Of course, I went on the Magical Mystery Tour and visited all the Beatle sites, from John, Paul, George and Ringo’s childhood homes to Strawberry Field and Penny Lane. I was in heaven!

The Cavern: before and after

Me and Sue about to enter the Cavern Club, a recreation of the place the Beatles cut their musical teeth in Liverpool. The new Cavern occupies 75% of the site of the original club.

Me and Val dancing to the Scissor Sisters (?!?!) inside the Cavern. Note the way the blue circles under my eyes match with the top. I planned that.

As you can see, we had a blast! There’s so much more I didn’t see (the Cathedral, the Pier Head, FACT, Sefton Park, etc.) so I will definitely go back to Liverpool. Who’s coming with me???

Entry filed under: Liverpool, Music, The Beatles, Travel.

Liverpool – Beautiful Night Euro 2008 – The Sexy, the Sexy Ugly and the Just Plain Fugly

4 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Joanne at frutto della passione  |  9 June 2008 at 9:39 pm

    Me! I’ll come. But you know I’d follow you anywhere 😈

    You are one twisted broad!! Almost as twisted as the Italian National team. It hurts to watch them!

    Reply
  • 2. My Mélange  |  10 June 2008 at 1:39 pm

    WOW!! I think you really do have BEATLEMANIA 🙂

    I got it and I got it baaaad!!

    Reply
  • 3. nyc/caribbean ragazza  |  10 June 2008 at 2:04 pm

    I will pass on the sugar mice. ha

    Those statues are very uhm, interesting.

    You’re very diplomatic 😉

    Reply
  • 4. Tuscan View....  |  10 June 2008 at 2:50 pm

    Sorry, not for me honey! That accent brings me out in hives! 😉
    I’ll come to Paris though, the food looked great. Did you really eat it all?
    Ciao Amanda

    Come ‘ed, la! Scouse is the best accent evah!!
    Yeah, I ate like a cochon in Paris. I didn’t even post all my restaurant reviews yet!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


MyFreeCopyright.com Registered & Protected
June 2008
S M T W T F S
« May   Jul »
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
2930  

Recent Posts

Pages

Blog Stats

  • 132,396 hits
Expat Women - Helping Women Living Overseas

Bookmark Milanese Masala

© Linda George and Milanese Masala, 2008-2009. Unauthorized use and/or duplication of this material without express and written permission from this blog’s author and/or owner is strictly prohibited. Excerpts and links may be used, provided that full and clear credit is given to Linda George and Milanese Masala with appropriate and specific direction to the original content.

Twitter Updates


