Euro 2008 – A Last Ditch List

17 June 2008 at 7:08 pm 10 comments

Ciao Bloggisti!

Well, my sexy ugly list worked. Sort of. But now I have to get down to work and post as soon as possible because time is a-wasting! Italy is playing France in a couple of hours to see who will go through to the quarter finals. But it will be an arduous task. Not only does Italy have to win but they have to hope that Romania won’t beat Holland tonight. As Holland has already qualified for the quarter finals and might not want to meet up with France or Italy in the later rounds, pundits here are expecting the Dutch to “fare il biscotto”, which literally means “do the biscuit” but actually means to lose on purpose to suit their diabolical needs. No I’m not biased ; )

Since our boys in blue need lots of moral support, and since you all appreciated the last one so much, here’s one last ditch Euro 08 sexy ugly list to bring them good luck. This list features some of the Azzurri who are going to play this evening. And no Bleus! So in no particular order, here’s the list:

Daniele De Rossi (midfielder)

http://www.homens-lindos.blogger.com.br/Daniele%20De%20Rossi.jpg

Everyone’s favourite hangdog/horseface…Andrea Pirlo (midfielder)

http://kr.goal.com/images/23551_hp.jpg

Gianluigi Buffon (goalkeeper)

http://www.gossipnews.it/sport/oscar/images/Gianluigi_Buffon_2.jpg


Gianluca Zambrotta (wingback)

And our saviour from the World Cup 06, Fabio Grosso

http://d.yimg.com/eur.yimg.com/ng/sp/empics/20071222/04/2599307701-soccer-uefa-champions-league-group-e-rangers-v-olympique-lyonnais.jpg

And for good measure, I’m going to throw in Jessica’s 10 Hottest Soccer Players with some FOINE pictures of our boys in their skivvies (scroll to the end) .

Come on ragazzi!!! May the force of the sexy ugly be with you!!!!!!!!!!!

*UPDATE: We did it!!!! Woo hoo!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Entry filed under: Italy, sexy ugly, soccer.

Euro 2008 – The Sexy, the Sexy Ugly and the Just Plain Fugly It’s all my fault, ragazzi!

10 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Jessica, Italy Logue  |  17 June 2008 at 7:47 pm

    Thanks for the link; I’m only disheartened to see the love of my Azzurri life, Pirlo, on this list! I know, I know… He’s not exactly Fabio Cannavaro or Luca Toni, but there’s just somethin’ about him. Could be the way he passes that ball… Or maybe it’s the hair.

    Anyway, FORZA AZZURRI!

    Hey Jessica! No, thank YOU for that list and D&G pics. Hey, being on the sexy ugly list is a good thing! That’s they way I like my men. Who wants a pretty boy! And I may have been harsh with the Pirlo description but I do think he’s got something. And I’m a Milanista too 🙂

    Reply
  • 2. Joanne at frutto della passione  |  17 June 2008 at 10:08 pm

    Fabio Grosso. Boy, he better live up to that promise. 😈

    Hahahahaha! And he does/did!!!! He looks mighty fine in those D&G pics, eh?

    Reply
  • 3. Joanne  |  18 June 2008 at 3:31 pm

    Me again, just checking in to see if you are offering any more eye candy, oop, I mean, positive thinking … yeah, that’s what I meant.

    Nope, sorry to disappoint. But don’t worry, I’m saving up for Sunday!!!

    Reply
  • 4. Cherrye at My Bella Vita  |  18 June 2008 at 3:32 pm

    Alrighty …

    I think Grosso is preSH. Tooo cute, really. And Zambrotta, well he may not be the “hottest” of all, but I adore him, as well. The others, well … I agree with ya.

    So many men, so little time 😉 Pep won’t be reading this, will he? Hope he isn’t as jealous as Gattuso’s wife.

    Reply
  • 5. nyc/caribbean ragazza  |  18 June 2008 at 5:00 pm

    I think your list had a lot to do with Italy’s win last night. 🙂

    Hey, Italian Spiderman had something to do with it too!

    Reply
  • 6. Jessica, Italy Logue  |  18 June 2008 at 5:18 pm

    Yay for the Milanistas! Or would that be Milaniste? Anyway, as much as I may have tried to not like them, I can’t help myself – and it’s all Pirlo’s fault. If he ever got traded, I’d have to have a long think about my team loyalties…

    Great minds think alike 😉 But you seem to have it bad for our Andrea. Did you know he used to be an Interista? Oh the shame!!

    Reply
  • 7. Jessica, Italy Logue  |  19 June 2008 at 1:05 am

    Yes, I know he used to play for THAT team. But I forgive him. I didn’t even pay attention to calcio until midway through the 2006 World Cup, and that’s when I started watching Pirlo and thought, “Damn, he’s good…” I didn’t even know who he played for at that point!

    And yes, he is my favorite, by a long shot. My tolerant husband even refers to him as my “boyfriend,” saying “Hey, your boyfriend’s on TV” every time there’s a closeup of Pirlo. 🙂

    HA! Did you think “Damn, he’s good” or “Damn, he’s hot!”? If you can read Italian, you might find this glowing article about Pirlo interesting. http://criticarossonera.blogspot.com/2006/06/zucconi-su-pirlo.html
    Zucconi even calls him a “cavallo depresso”.

    Reply
  • 8. Jessica, Italy Logue  |  19 June 2008 at 6:03 pm

    No, I really did think he was a magician with the ball long before I could have picked him out of a lineup. It was just an added bonus that I think he’s a hottie. (Though I do tend to like long hair on guys…)

    And thanks for the article – I can read a bit of Italian, and am always trying to improve. How can I resist a glowing piece about Andrea? I think my favorite quote about him was from Gattuso, who said something like, “When I watch him play, I wonder if what I play can even be called soccer.” Of course, that may say as much about Rino as it does Andrea!

    Oh Pirlo! We missed you so!!!!! (hey, I’m a poet and I didn’t even know it!)

    Reply
  • 9. bleeding espresso  |  23 June 2008 at 7:51 am

    Very sad today, cara…another list please?!

    Sniff! I… can’t right now. It hurts too much!!

    Reply
  • 10. Jessica, Italy Logue  |  23 June 2008 at 9:07 pm

    They looked *horrible* on the pitch yesterday (except for the backline, which was utterly amazing – but you can’t win relying entirely on good defense alone). Did you see Pirlo walking off the field in tears? Ugh – breaks my heart. Except I’m still angry with him for getting that yellow in the France game, the one that forced him to sit out the Spain game, because he should know better – they need him on the pitch, for pete’s sake.

    *sigh*

    Well, perhaps now we can focus more on defending our title in 2010 – with a new coach and an actual plan for offense other than continuously lofting the ball into Toni (fingers crossed).

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


MyFreeCopyright.com Registered & Protected
June 2008
S M T W T F S
« May   Jul »
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
2930  

Recent Posts

Pages

Blog Stats

  • 132,664 hits
Expat Women - Helping Women Living Overseas

Bookmark Milanese Masala

© Linda George and Milanese Masala, 2008-2009. Unauthorized use and/or duplication of this material without express and written permission from this blog’s author and/or owner is strictly prohibited. Excerpts and links may be used, provided that full and clear credit is given to Linda George and Milanese Masala with appropriate and specific direction to the original content.

Twitter Updates


