Itanglish Korner

7 July 2008 at 11:13 pm 4 comments

Ciao Bloggisti!

One of the things I love about this country is it’s reverence for the English language. It made life as a new immigrant a lot easier for me. I found a job as an English teacher almost immediately and I could have worked night and day had I wanted to. I’ve taught hundreds of people, from kids to police officers, from senior executives to actors. Yes, English lessons have become more fashionable than a pair of Louboutins. In spite of all the teaching that’s going on, somehow Italians don’t have the best grasp of the language. And the mistakes I see are always good for a cheap chuckle. Which is why I’ve decided to inaugurate a new feature: the Itanglish Korner, a sort of Engrish alla pizzaiola . Like the time last week when I went to El Brellin restaurant in the heart of Milan’s Navigli district. A beautiful, elegant place with traditional Milanese dishes like Osso Buco and Risotto. And lo and behold, the menu was in Italian and English. Perfect! Well, not exactly. I was more than a little perplexed the description of one dish, which boasted a delicious sauce of “anchovies straining”. It took a lot of wine to get the image of constipated fish out of my mind.

And just the other day while going for a walk in town, I came across this poster for a local fair, featuring a number of “international” artists, including everyone’s favourite grunge band:

Ha! I’m torn between Perl Giem and the musical stylings of Maury & Mary. Hmmm….

Anyway, the next time I see a terribly-translated menu or any other distortion of the English language, I’ll let you know. And if you have any Itanglish you’d like to share, send ’em in. The more the merrier!

Entry filed under: Cavolate, Italy, random thoughts.

Sweet summer music McIndia in Italy

4 Comments Add your own

  • 1. nyc/caribbean ragazza  |  8 July 2008 at 7:35 am

    Maybe the tribute band is called Perl Gem? I mean they can’t call themselves Pearl Jam that would be illegal. ha

    Yeah, the band is called Perl Giem. I just thought it was hilarious that they spelled it like that.

    Reply
  • 2. michelle of bleeding espresso  |  9 July 2008 at 10:34 am

    Constipated anchovies. Great. Now *I* need some wine 😉

    I don’t actually see too much of this down here…*so* little English!

    What a shame you don’t get much Itanglish there. I get a kick out of reading stuff like that. It’s never a dull moment up here in Polentaland.

    Reply
  • 3. Jessica, Italy Logue  |  11 July 2008 at 10:20 pm

    Shelley of the Really Rome blog posted one of my favorites – the abbreviation for the “Super Bad” movie in Italy was “SuX Bad.” Yeah, they clearly didn’t consult with any English speakers before doing that.

    Hahaha! I remember when it came out but I thought the film was actually called “SuX Bad”. Now that I know the real title, it’s even funnier. I love this country!!

    Reply
  • 4. Val  |  11 July 2008 at 10:51 pm

    You’re right that Perl Giem are bad spellers, but you’ve got it all wrong. They’re actually a tribute to Linda Purl, of Happy Days fame.

    As president of the Linda Purl fanclub, you should know. Thanks for enlightening me, as always. You are the wind beneath my wings, man.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


MyFreeCopyright.com Registered & Protected
July 2008
S M T W T F S
« Jun   Aug »
 12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
2728293031  

Recent Posts

Pages

Blog Stats

  • 132,396 hits
Expat Women - Helping Women Living Overseas

Bookmark Milanese Masala

© Linda George and Milanese Masala, 2008-2009. Unauthorized use and/or duplication of this material without express and written permission from this blog’s author and/or owner is strictly prohibited. Excerpts and links may be used, provided that full and clear credit is given to Linda George and Milanese Masala with appropriate and specific direction to the original content.

Twitter Updates


