Summer romance

18 July 2008 at 11:27 am 7 comments

Ciao Bloggisti

Un’estate fa la storia di noi due, era un po’ come una favola…..

Have you ever had one of those summers? You’re on holiday, maybe on the beach and you happen to meet that special someone. And its like a chemical reaction. Maybe it’s the heat, maybe it’s having too much free time on your hands or the languidness of summer. The romance soon becomes all-consuming, even dangerously so. But it’s a flickering flame and destined to burn itself out once September rolls around.

This is the story behind one of my favourite summer songs, Un’estate fa, originally written in French by Michel Fugain (title: Une Belle Histoire), with Italian lyrics by self-styled Latin lover Franco Califano. It’s been covered by many over the years, from Mina to the Homo Sapiens but I like this recent version by Delta V. The singer is American and you can sort of hear it in her accent when she sings. I also love the retro feel of the video (especially those white go-go boots!).

Whenever I go to the Riviera, where I think the video is set, it inspires thoughts of intrigue and romance, like To Catch a Thief, Two for the Road, etc. That pesto sauce sure plays some funny tricks on my mind.

Have you ever had a brief but unforgettable summer fling? What was the soundtrack to your storia estiva?

Entry filed under: Disco 2000, Italy, Music, romance, Travel.

McIndia in Italy The Battle of the Sagre

7 Comments Add your own

  • 1. nyc/caribbean ragazza  |  18 July 2008 at 12:57 pm

    Thanks for this clip. I’m intrigued by this American singer. Who is she?

    This video make me want to have a summer romance. Heck any time of the year romance would be good. 🙂

    The singer’s name is Gi Kalweit but she’s no longer with the band. It’s too bad because she had an interesting voice.
    Hey, I could set you up with one of my friends in Milan. The only problem is that he’s a diehard Interista. Nobody’s perfect 😉

    Reply
  • 2. joanne at frutto della passione  |  18 July 2008 at 1:10 pm

    My husband was a summer romance, sort of. Okay, it was October but I was on vacation, does that count?

    No it doesn’t. Come on, I’m sure you had at least one summer fling. Fess up!

    Reply
  • 3. rowena  |  18 July 2008 at 2:20 pm

    Arghh! Back in those single days I was always too busy to be getting myself into summer romances. Sure did love the movie Grease though!

    Youth is wasted on the young! By the time we’re old enough to get it, we’re already cougars 😦
    Sandy and Danny were the quintessential summer romance.

    Reply
  • 4. Erin  |  19 July 2008 at 12:44 am

    Never had a summer romance, but I did have a kind of “fling” in Mexico while on holidays with my family : ) I think the heat and exotic atmosphere had something to do with it!

    Wow, sounds like a fun memory! Deets please!!!

    Reply
  • 5. nyc/caribbean ragazza  |  20 July 2008 at 8:47 am

    Grazie.

    My friend G. is a die hard Inter fan as well but I love him anyway. ha.

    I just sent joanne an email and asked her to forward it to you.

    Sometimes love is deaf dumb and blind 😉 I got Jo’s email and sent you one too.

    Reply
  • 6. My Mélange  |  20 July 2008 at 3:29 pm

    No, but like Erin, I had a vacation fling. It was in Martinique and calypso and steel drum music were the soundtrack. And the best part…he was French, and I was young, so we both had trouble speaking each others language….except the language of love that is 😉

    I know…TMI.

    Ah, what a great story! Très hot!!

    Reply
  • 7. lucy  |  29 July 2008 at 5:03 pm

    Oh my “YES”! I had a summer romance I think with a few but mainly one. I was 18 and I went to Sicily for 3 months, I had to leave at the end of September! Last summer my sister got his number but it doesn’t work for me…good thing I wouldn’t know what to say after 25 years! There are two songs that bring me back “Piccolo Grande Amore” and “Spiaggie” which is where we spent most of our time as well as the Belvedere in Termini Imerese. Big Sigh!!!!

    Ah, “Piccolo Grande Amore”!! That’s too bad you couldn’t get in touch with him. Try again. I can translate a few phrases in Italian if you need them.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


MyFreeCopyright.com Registered & Protected
July 2008
S M T W T F S
« Jun   Aug »
 12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
2728293031  

Recent Posts

Pages

Blog Stats

  • 132,664 hits
Expat Women - Helping Women Living Overseas

Bookmark Milanese Masala

© Linda George and Milanese Masala, 2008-2009. Unauthorized use and/or duplication of this material without express and written permission from this blog’s author and/or owner is strictly prohibited. Excerpts and links may be used, provided that full and clear credit is given to Linda George and Milanese Masala with appropriate and specific direction to the original content.

Twitter Updates


