Toronto’s Distillery District

11 September 2008 at 1:08 am 3 comments

Ciao Bloggisti!

Picture it: Toronto, August 2008.

I’m late for a very important date and to top it all off, I’m lost. I get off the bus and start walking east. All of a sudden I see a gateway leading to…. England? Looking at the cobblestone streets, the distinctive red bricks of the Victorian-era buildings and the noticable absence of cars, it seems as though I entered a time warp and stepped into Dickensian London. Instead, I’m in one of Toronto’s most unique neighbourhoods: the Distillery District.

The District’s old-world charm comes from the fact that it was once home to the Gooderham and Worts Distillery, founded in 1832 and the largest distillery in the British Empire by the 1860s. In the late 20th century, the Distillery’s operations came to a close and the area soon became a no-man’s land, surrounded by demolished buildings and vacant lots. But the Distillery’s buildings remained intact and “constitute the largest and best-preserved collection of Victorian Industrial Architecture in North America.” This made the area a big favourite with “Hollywood North” so it has often been used as a location for a number of major films, such as Chicago, X-Men, Cinderella Man and of course Brady Bunch in the White House.

A few years ago, the site was redeveloped and is now one of Toronto’s most fascinating tourist destinations. Its 40 plus buildings house art galleries, theatres, speciality shops, restaurants and cafés and what’s more, the spaces are never leased to franchises or chains. So if you’re in the area and are hankering for a Big Mac or Starbuck’s iced cappuccino, you’re outta luck!

I must say I was pleasantly surprised by my visit because even if I grew up in Toronto, I had no idea this District even existed. It truly was a hidden gem. And I just loved the relaxed vibe and slightly European feel of this pedestrian neighbourhood. There were a number of restaurants to choose from, such as the Boiler House and Perigee but we opted for the Mill St. Brew Pub, a microbrewery specializing in fresh organic beers, stouts and ales. They also served pub fare with a twist. I had a fancy shmancy meat loaf stuffed with asiago cheese and spinach and one of my friends ordered sweet potato fries. So delicious and gorgeous that I just had to take a picture!

I wish I had had enough time to discover more of the District, visit some artists’ studios and try the chocolates at Soma, but that will have to wait till my next visit to Toronto. And of course, you’re all invited!

Are there any hidden gems in your towns? What area would make a great movie location?

Entry filed under: Canada, Entertainment, toronto, Travel.

Separated at Birth? The Bratty Bambino Loves Carbonara

3 Comments Add your own

  • 1. joanne at frutto della passione  |  11 September 2008 at 10:01 am

    Loved it last time I went but I didn’t make it this year. We should shoot our own movie there.

    Yeah! Let’s call it Revenge of the Translators

    Reply
  • 2. nyc/caribbean ragazza  |  12 September 2008 at 7:00 am

    My second night in Toronto my boss took me there for dinner. I really like that area. I would love to go back and walk through the galleries.

    It’s great isn’t it! Doesn’t even seem like Toronto.

    Reply
  • 3. michelle of bleeding espresso  |  17 September 2008 at 4:46 pm

    I love old breweries and their neighborhoods! We certainly don’t have anything like that here in my new (medieval) town, but back home, a few towns over was Pottsville, PA, home of Yuengling, America’s oldest brewery 🙂 I went on many a tour!

    Sounds like fun! I’d love to visit the breweries in Milwaukee one day. I was a huge Happy Days fan 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


MyFreeCopyright.com Registered & Protected
September 2008
S M T W T F S
« Aug   Oct »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
282930  

Recent Posts

Pages

Blog Stats

  • 132,664 hits
Expat Women - Helping Women Living Overseas

Bookmark Milanese Masala

© Linda George and Milanese Masala, 2008-2009. Unauthorized use and/or duplication of this material without express and written permission from this blog’s author and/or owner is strictly prohibited. Excerpts and links may be used, provided that full and clear credit is given to Linda George and Milanese Masala with appropriate and specific direction to the original content.

Twitter Updates


