Gnocco fritto and Vasco

6 October 2008 at 5:29 pm 8 comments

Ciao Bloggisti!

How was your weekend? Mine was fun and fat-filled because we went out for a friend’s birthday to a restaurant specializing in gnocco fritto. Gnocchi fritti are fried dough, sort of like mini beaver tails (if you don’t know what those are, check out Frutto della Passione’s description of this classic Canadian snack). The Italian version is from the Emilia-Romagna region and is eaten warm, accompanied by an assortment of coldmeats like prosciutto crudo, culatello, and salami. We went to the Gnocco Fritto 2 restaurant in Milan’s Naviglio area and they just kept serving basket after basket of the fried wonders. Not only did we have generous helpings of coldmeats, we also filled our gnocchi with some lovely soft cheeses like gorgonzola, taleggio and torta alpina.  I would post pictures of our meal but my husband forgot to bring the camera!! GRRRRRR!! Anyway, you’ll just have to imagine it for yourselves. (In retaliation, one day I’m going to dig up some old pictures of my husband dressed in drag for Carnival and post those!)

After dinner we went out for drinks at a nearby bar. Since it was Saturday night, of course there was a band playing cover songs far too loudly for my aging ears, making it almost impossible for me to talk to my friends. So I was kind of forced to listen to the music. Much to my surprise, the band wasn’t half-bad. They played the usual Top Ten, some Amy Winehouse,  Duffy, etc. But the guy did a spot on imitation of Vasco Rossi. For those of you who don’t know, Vasco (aka Blasco) is one of Italy’s most hard-living, hard-rocking singer/songwriters. And like the gnocco fritto, he hails from Emilia. I wanted to post a video of one of Vasco’s biggest hits, Albachiara, but I couldn’t find anything except unofficial concert footage. However, I did find something unusual that might be appreciated by those of you studying Italian. This is a video set to Albachiara but done in sign language by a man called Daniele. I don’t know much about signing but I thought he did a fantastic job at interpreting the song.

And aren’t his eyes expressive? Ah, there’s nothing like good music to start the week off right!

Buon lunedì!!

Entry filed under: Disco 2000, Entertainment, Food, Italy, Music, Restaurants.

Cinema, amore mio! My new love!

8 Comments Add your own

  • 1. JennDZ_The LeftoverQueen  |  6 October 2008 at 5:49 pm

    Sounds delicious! I could go for some right now! Yum!

    Is there anything better than fried dough? And every culture seems to have their version of it, be it Indian puri, Spanish churros or good ole fried gnocchi.

    Reply
  • 2. anne  |  6 October 2008 at 9:53 pm

    Sounds like a fun night out !!!! 🙂

    It was, Anne! It doesn’t get much better than friends, food and music 🙂

    Reply
  • 3. Joanne at Frutto della Passione  |  7 October 2008 at 10:31 am

    Ah, you crazy kids living it up till the wee hours. But then again, food and Vasco do seem to be the perfect evening!

    And one day I’d like to see the real Vasco live!

    Reply
  • 4. Cherrye at My Bella Vita  |  7 October 2008 at 10:56 am

    I’ve never heard of fried gnocchi but I imagine we’d “get along” quite well. Sounds like a fun night.

    I’m sure you’d get along famously, especially if he came with his friend prosciutto crudo 😉

    Reply
  • 5. nyc/caribbean ragazza  |  7 October 2008 at 11:36 am

    gnocchi + fried = I’m happy.

    They were hard to resist, let me tell ya!

    Reply
  • 6. My Mélange  |  7 October 2008 at 1:55 pm

    Oh, fried gnocchi. Sounds delish!

    You should definitely try them next time you visit.

    Reply
  • 7. Frances  |  8 October 2008 at 12:21 am

    Ohmigosh it sounds so yummy.
    Always love stopping in.
    Must shout this post out to the group.
    Waving at you from New York

    Hey Frances! The gnocchi were so addictive, I couldn’t stop eating them!! How are things in NYC?

    Reply
  • 8. qualcosa di bello  |  8 October 2008 at 8:32 pm

    yummy italian food = good

    a video for someone studying italian (me) = even better!

    thanks for sharing!

    I’m glad you liked the video. Did you understand most of it? It’s a great song and I think the lyrics are very romantic.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


MyFreeCopyright.com Registered & Protected
October 2008
S M T W T F S
« Sep   Nov »
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
262728293031  

Recent Posts

Pages

Blog Stats

  • 132,664 hits
Expat Women - Helping Women Living Overseas

Bookmark Milanese Masala

© Linda George and Milanese Masala, 2008-2009. Unauthorized use and/or duplication of this material without express and written permission from this blog’s author and/or owner is strictly prohibited. Excerpts and links may be used, provided that full and clear credit is given to Linda George and Milanese Masala with appropriate and specific direction to the original content.

Twitter Updates


