My new love!

8 October 2008 at 1:12 am 9 comments

Ciao Bloggisti!

I’ve been meaning to tell you something for the last few days but didn’t know how to go about it. I sometimes find it hard to share my innermost feelings with people. You know how it is. But now I’m about to burst so here goes… I’m in love…. with a pair of boots!! There, I said it!!!

Nice, eh? I bought these babies on Saturday with the help of my trusty shoe expert Bellie. She may be only 5 years old but she knows her stuff. I got them at Bagatt, a  well-known chain of shoe stores in Northern Italy. The word bagatt actually means cobbler in Milanese dialect. I love the shoes here because they look great, the prices are reasonable and most importantly, they’re soooo comfortable. I have a pair of black Bagatt pumps and I swear I could run a marathon in them!

I was about to get a pair of gorgeous thigh-high suede boots but opted for practicality instead. Let’s face it, a busy mother of two small kids cannot wear suede footwear unless they’re Hush Puppies. And while I’m at it, a busy mother of three should NOT wear six-inch stilettos to the mall!!! Sorry, I digress. Anyway, when I saw these stacked-heeled lovelies, I just couldn’t have anything else. As far as the comfort factor goes, I’d give them an 8 considering I wore them for a few hours Saturday evening, walking on the cobblestones in the Naviglio district and my feet weren’t in pain by the end of the night. Not too shabby.

So the next time you’re in the Milan area, Bellie and I will be more than happy to take you round to our favourite cobbler.

Sorry if this post has been purely self-indulgent with no redeeming qualities whatsoever but what’s the point of living in Da Boot if you can’t express some bootie love 😉

That is all.

Entry filed under: fashion, Italy.

Gnocco fritto and Vasco Happy Birthday John!!

9 Comments Add your own

  • 1. nyc/caribbean ragazza  |  8 October 2008 at 7:47 am

    Those boots are fab.

    It’s hard to walk around here seeing all the amazing shoes and boots and not partake. I keep repeating to myself…”you must pay rent, you must pay rent”

    I agree, these days it’s hard to splurge. I’ve cut down on my shoe shopping in the last two years but my old black boots aren’t fit to be seen in public anymore. So I just had to buy new ones!

    Reply
  • 2. Joanne at Frutto della Passione  |  8 October 2008 at 11:23 am

    Every now and then you must release your inner Carrie Bradshaw. Pretty shoes are good for the soul!

    Amen sister!!

    Reply
  • 3. Beatriz  |  8 October 2008 at 1:23 pm

    Great boots, and great tip (the store). I purchased my first and only pair of Italian shoes at the beginning of the summer, and even though they were on sale, they are the most expensive shoes I have ever purchased! They are worth every penny. I took them to Colombia and California, and everybody could tell they were Italian shoes… now, I want a second pair, and a third, and…

    I remember being so proud when I bought my first pair of Italian shoes in Florence when I was 18. I wore them to death!

    Reply
  • 4. Sierra  |  8 October 2008 at 1:42 pm

    Oh my, I’m in love with those boots. I can boast running up a huge hill in Siena in my (cheap) black high-heeled boots. The things we do for vanity!

    I know! We are gluttons for punishment sometimes. But my feet still can’t handle stilettos. Why were you running up a hill in boots? Was Raoul Bova waiting for you at the top? 😉

    Reply
  • 5. Erin  |  8 October 2008 at 9:40 pm

    Those are HAWT!!! Love them! I looked for a new pair of black boots this week, but didn’t find any in my size : (

    “next time you’re in the milan area…” (sigh), I wish! Although my hubby and I decided that next year at this time we are going on a Mediterranean cruise!! Yay! We’ll be in Venice and Rome and Messina and Livorno…I’m SOOO excited.

    Thought you would have appreciated them! I don’t have, ahem, dainty feet so I always have problems finding shoes in my size, esp. in Italy.
    I really hope you guys are coming to Italy. I’ll try my best to meet up with you somewhere 🙂

    Reply
  • 6. Sierra  |  8 October 2008 at 11:08 pm

    Wow, I wish Raoul Bova was waiting for me at the top!

    If he was waiting for me I would have run up there even in Posh Spice’s ridiculous stilettos 😉

    Reply
  • 7. Cherrye at My Bella Vita  |  10 October 2008 at 12:20 pm

    Nice! I wish we had that store down here. I think it is time for a road trip!

    Come on over!

    Reply
  • 8. Sheryl  |  13 October 2008 at 10:34 pm

    Thanks for the tip! I’m still new to Milano and don’t know which are the best stores to shop at. I checked the website and there’s one in the mall right by work. 😉 Enjoy your boots!

    Hi Sheryl! Welcome to Milan and thanks so much for visiting the site!! I’ve been here a few years and I’m still discovering my favourite stores. Let me know if you pick up some killer shoes, ok?

    Reply
  • 9. Nicole  |  11 November 2008 at 8:28 pm

    The boots are great! I too have just fallen in love with a pair of boots that I got at this great shop in Bergamo called Artificio so I know the feeling. Enjoy!

    Thanks for stopping by Nicole! It’s good to find another boot-loving expat in Lombardy 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


MyFreeCopyright.com Registered & Protected
October 2008
S M T W T F S
« Sep   Nov »
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
262728293031  

Recent Posts

Pages

Blog Stats

  • 132,656 hits
Expat Women - Helping Women Living Overseas

Bookmark Milanese Masala

© Linda George and Milanese Masala, 2008-2009. Unauthorized use and/or duplication of this material without express and written permission from this blog’s author and/or owner is strictly prohibited. Excerpts and links may be used, provided that full and clear credit is given to Linda George and Milanese Masala with appropriate and specific direction to the original content.

Twitter Updates


