Cucina confidential

24 November 2008 at 12:57 pm 6 comments

Ciao Bloggisti!

I’m at home with a sick Diggy so I actually have a few minutes to write. Miracolo!!

Anyway, I just wanted to share some news with y’all. My baby is coming home tomorrow! It’s been a gestation period of over 18 months but tomorrow, it’s finally happening. My new kitchen is coming!!!

We moved to our new place at the beginning of 2007 and had to do some MAJOR renovations. Have you ever seen the Money Pit? Well, it wasn’t that bad but we basically had to fix up the place from top to bottom since the previous owners hadn’t done much maintenance inside or out. We even planned to create a new living room, kitchen, laundry room and garage from the junk-filled basement (Exhibit A).

Exhibit A; basement before renovation

Exhibit A; basement before renovation

As you can see, we had quite the job on our hands. Not only did we have to plan in detail with our architect/surveyor but we had to get various permits from the town, a bureaucratic nightmare but no surprise in this country. Then my husband had to coordinate the construction workers, electricians, plumber, tile installers, painters, etc. And of course, there were delays, burst pipes, suppliers gone AWOL, budget constraints. I was starting to lose hope that I wouldn’t have my dream kitchen until I was too old for solid food. But Santa’s giving me an early Christmas present this year and tomorrow I’m finally going to meet my bella cucina!

Here’s a sneak peak of our new and improved basement:

new hallway

new hallway

location of u-shaped cooking area

location of u-shaped cooking area

my new fridge and oven, waiting forlornly

my new fridge and oven, waiting forlornly

Will post more pics after the new kitchen furniture arrives. Gotta run now. Kiddie mini-emergency. Never a dull moment around here!

Entry filed under: house reno.

Will change come to Italy, too? Cucina Confidential – Part 2

6 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Joanne at frutto della passione  |  24 November 2008 at 1:33 pm

    So I imagine a dinner invitation will be in the works, n’est pas? I’m home too, fever and other yuckies. 😦

    I’ll invite you soon, very soon! I’m at work this afternoon. I brought in a giant peanut butter cup that I made yesterday. Should I save you a piece?

    Reply
  • 2. LuLu  |  24 November 2008 at 3:44 pm

    How exciting!! Looks like it was a lot of work…but it’s almost done! Can’t wait to see the final product!! 🙂

    Thanks! I wish I could have posted more before pics but I can’t find them. Then you would have seen what a state the house was in. But I’ll definitely post pics of the finished kitchen.

    Reply
  • 3. nyc/caribbean ragazza  |  24 November 2008 at 4:40 pm

    As I am obsessed with home renovation shows, I look forward to your pics. 🙂

    I’m afraid it won’t be anything like Extreme Home Makeover but I hope you’ll enjoy the pictures anyway 🙂

    Reply
  • 4. Beatriz  |  24 November 2008 at 7:04 pm

    Congratulations on the new addition to the family! She looks gorgeous, and this is without all the makeup.

    Aw, thanks Beatriz! This was the only pregnancy during which I actually lost weight 🙂

    Reply
  • 5. khomala  |  25 November 2008 at 2:10 pm

    love the colors!! but it must be terrible renovating after moving in. we did it once when i was a kid..i remember my mom hated it. well, congratulations on a new kitchen… can’t wait to see the end result!! 🙂

    Thanks! They’re still installing the kitchen as I write. It’s been a long wait but hopefully the end result will be worth it.

    Reply
  • 6. Val  |  26 November 2008 at 2:43 am

    Nice! Congratulations! And I love the colours; is that lime green in the hallway? I remember you had that lime-coloured shirt in grade 11 and you looked really good in it (you wore it to my surprise bday party, where Kevin D. was my ‘present’; oh no, memories of Maria and Michelle taking turns sitting in his lap and me having no idea how to flirt and crying to my mom in her room midway through the party but enough about that) – was that the inspiration?

    Um, thanks. Was that the off-the-shoulder acid green top you were thinking of? I have no recollection of that surprise party. Did my parents let me go? I can’t remember! Anyway, that top (or the party) wasn’t the inspiration. We needed a very bright colour because the hallway is quite dark. Glad you approve!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


MyFreeCopyright.com Registered & Protected
November 2008
S M T W T F S
« Oct   Dec »
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
30  

Recent Posts

Pages

Blog Stats

  • 132,396 hits
Expat Women - Helping Women Living Overseas

Bookmark Milanese Masala

© Linda George and Milanese Masala, 2008-2009. Unauthorized use and/or duplication of this material without express and written permission from this blog’s author and/or owner is strictly prohibited. Excerpts and links may be used, provided that full and clear credit is given to Linda George and Milanese Masala with appropriate and specific direction to the original content.

Twitter Updates


