Cucina Confidential – Part 2

26 November 2008 at 6:43 pm 4 comments

Ciao Bloggisti!

Due to popular demand, here’s a quick update on the kitchen situation. Yesterday, two men from Cappellini, our supplier, arrived early to start the long and arduous installation. It took them eight hours. Hopefully none of our cats were injured in the process (however, Beppa’s been missing for the last 24 hrs. Hmmm…).

Anyway, I am as pleased as punch to finally have my very own kitchen, one that my husband and I designed and that is actually younger than me. You see, our previous kitchen was a hand-me-down from the in-laws (when people move house in Italy, they usually take their kitchen furniture with them, cupboards and all). And before that I lived in rented apartments. So having a new kitchen that I could choose from top to bottom meant a lot to me.

 

There’s still some more plumbing and tiling work to do but here’s phase two of our new cucina:

 

 

View from the door. Unfortunately our pasty white dishwasher doesn’t

really match the rest of the decor. Maybe I’ll ask my son to “break” it. Heh heh!

kitchen-phase-two-006

 

My new Lofra range, big enough for a Palin turkey!

kitchen-phase-two-007

 

 

View of the junk-strewn U-shaped island

kitchen-phase-two-009

 

 

Yes, more furniture

kitchen-phase-two-010

 

 

The one bone of contention: a glass cabinet we’re not sure we really needed

kitchen-phase-two-014

kitchen-phase-two-016

 

Now, we don’t really remember whose idea the cabinet was (my husband insists it was mine. I have no recollection of making that decision whatsoever!). Anyway, it would be a good place to store wine glasses, teapots, cups, saucers, etc. The hubster thinks it’s useless and takes up valuable space. He wants to take it out asap and put it in another room, give it to the cats or something like that. I say we should wait and see if we can’t find a use for it in the kitchen. I don’t know why we didn’t think about it more when we designed the kitchen but it seemed like a good idea on paper.

So now I turn to you, my blogging buddies. Do you think the cabinet should stay or go? My marriage hinges on your decision. Grazie!!

 

p.s. Will post more pics as the kitchen progresses. Next up, the backsplash!!

Entry filed under: house reno, Italy.

Cucina confidential A message for Mumbai

4 Comments Add your own

  • 1. joanne at frutto della passione  |  27 November 2008 at 4:06 pm

    Wait until you know exactly what you want to put in it before you decide where to put it. Can’t wait for my invite!! 😉

    Baking Sensei, you are wise beyond your years. I will heed your good advice. I prefer inviting you when the living room is ready in a couple of months. Hope that’s not too long a wait.

    Reply
  • 2. nyc/caribbean ragazza  |  27 November 2008 at 5:42 pm

    What Joanne said regarding the cabinet.

    The kitchen looks great!

    Thanks! I’m so glad to have such sensible blogging buddies 🙂

    Reply
  • 3. Sue  |  27 November 2008 at 11:32 pm

    I think you should keep the cabinet. You can store stuff that you would normally leave out in the open. For instance, cereal or biscuits in nice containers on the bottom that would be convenient for the kids (if you want), and the upper shelves can hold nice glasswares/ceramics and your favourite cookbooks.

    It’s shaping up well! Can’t wait to see the backsplash! 🙂

    Well, I was going to store all my liquor there but maybe your idea is better 😉

    Reply
  • 4. anne  |  28 November 2008 at 12:03 am

    Looking good 🙂 Love the range..

    Glad you like it, Anne. Can’t wait to start cooking there!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


MyFreeCopyright.com Registered & Protected
November 2008
S M T W T F S
« Oct   Dec »
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
30  

Recent Posts

Pages

Blog Stats

  • 132,396 hits
Expat Women - Helping Women Living Overseas

Bookmark Milanese Masala

© Linda George and Milanese Masala, 2008-2009. Unauthorized use and/or duplication of this material without express and written permission from this blog’s author and/or owner is strictly prohibited. Excerpts and links may be used, provided that full and clear credit is given to Linda George and Milanese Masala with appropriate and specific direction to the original content.

Twitter Updates


