Kitchen Krazy

17 December 2008 at 1:32 am 7 comments

Ciao Bloggisti!

Just wanted to keep you posted on my new kitchen. Things are progressing quite nicely, thank you very much. We’ve put the tiles/backsplash and are slowly moving things from the old kitchen upstairs to the new one.  The  stove works great and I’ve even baked Christmas cookies in the oven. The kids are thrilled even though our first dinner in the new kitchen was marked by a blackout. Half the town was in the dark that evening. My daughter wanted to move to Canada right then and there!

Anyway, here are some pics of the kitchen as it is now:

Kitchen with new backsplash

Kitchen with new backsplash

Hand-painted tiles from Vietri

Hand-painted tiles from Vietri

Tile detail

Tile detail

view of island

view of island

a 40's desk we're using as a TV stand

My first "antique" purchase: a 40's desk we're using as a TV stand

We still have to put up the utensil rod and get a new table and light fixtures but I’m quite pleased with the results so far. My biggest preoccupation now is to organize my kitchen as efficiently as possible. I’ve been cooking in the midst of chaos for the last 12 years so I’m really looking forward to tapping into my inner Martha.

What is one tool/trick/thingamajig that you use which makes your kitchen great? What can’t you live without?

Entry filed under: house reno, Italy.

Turning water into wine? Small town par-tay!

7 Comments Add your own

  • 1. nyc/caribbean ragazza  |  17 December 2008 at 12:38 pm

    It’s looking good.

    I love my Microplane. Someday I hope to have a KitchenAid mixer.

    I had to sell my Cuisinart mini-prep when I moved overseas. I miss it. 🙂

    Thanks! I had to look up Microplane. Very nice graters! Which one do you have? I’d love to have a KitchenAid mixer too. Santa, are you listening?

    Reply
  • 2. Sue  |  18 December 2008 at 8:21 am

    A good pot! And I mean the kind you cook in! 😉

    The second thing, a good knife. Buy it, don’t accept it as a gift. It would be bad luck. I’m still looking for my perfect chef’s knife. I’m hoping for some good deals during this “Economic Crisis.”

    Your kitchen is gorgeous! So envious of all that space… you know how small mine is! One day I’ll move into a house and get a grown up kitchen like you… one… day….

    Thanks Sue! I’ve waited a loooong time to have that kitchen.
    I actually got a free set of knives when I bought the kitchen furniture. Is that considered a gift? Hope not, esp since I paid quite a bit for everything.
    Don’t worry, you’ll have your grown-up kitchen too!

    Reply
  • 3. Callista  |  18 December 2008 at 5:14 pm

    Wow that’s a nice kitchen. I wish my kitchen looked ANYTHING like that!

    Aw, thanks Callista! I’m sure it won’t look like that for long. My kids will probably dismantle the whole thing by the summer 😉

    Reply
  • 4. Jessica, WhyGo Italy  |  19 December 2008 at 9:02 pm

    The kitchen looks fabulous; those tiles are gorgeous! You must be thrilled. 🙂

    Thanks Jessica! It’s certainly a lot more fun cooking in a kitchen like that. In fact, I’m going to prepare some Welcome to Milan cookies for Beckham right now! 😉

    Reply
  • 5. nyc/caribbean ragazza  |  23 December 2008 at 6:17 pm

    I have the long lean one. I use it a lot. I have seen them in Rome at the store C.U.C.I.N.A.

    Hope I can find it here.

    Reply
  • 6. khomala  |  8 January 2009 at 8:51 am

    i love your kitchen! and the tiles must hv cost a bomb!

    Thanks! Yeah, no comment on the price of those tiles. Let’s just say the hubby is paranoid about keeping them clean.

    Reply
  • 7. Val  |  14 January 2009 at 6:38 am

    sexy sexy kitchen. The backsplash is gorgeous and shows very good taste!
    I look forward to having a delicious meal there one day. Tell Luca to get ready to cook!

    Justh kidding!

    Thanks man! Having a kitchen like that inspires me to cook more. Anytime you guys want to visit (and eat!) you know you’re more than welcome. And last Sunday I made a wicked roast with veg, red wine gravy and Yorkshire pudding. I’m sure Howard would have enjoyed it!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


MyFreeCopyright.com Registered & Protected
December 2008
S M T W T F S
« Nov   Jan »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
28293031  

Recent Posts

Pages

Blog Stats

  • 132,172 hits
Expat Women - Helping Women Living Overseas

Bookmark Milanese Masala

© Linda George and Milanese Masala, 2008-2009. Unauthorized use and/or duplication of this material without express and written permission from this blog’s author and/or owner is strictly prohibited. Excerpts and links may be used, provided that full and clear credit is given to Linda George and Milanese Masala with appropriate and specific direction to the original content.

Twitter Updates


