Fabrizio De André

12 January 2009 at 1:06 am 5 comments

Ciao Bloggisti

It’s taken me a while to get back to blogging after a long holiday break but I’m proud that my first post is in honour of  Italy’s troubadour, Fabrizio De André. He passed away 10 years ago yesterday and all over the country, they are celebrating his life and art with concerts, exhibitions, tv and radio specials.

Unfortunately, I didn’t know who De André was until I heard the news about his death. But over the last decade,  I slowly discovered the work of this artist who created exquisite music spanning diverse genres. But more than anything else he was a true poet, writing lyrics that spoke of liberty, the poor, the marginalized as well as love in all its forms.  His songs are studied by children all over Italy and there are streets and schools named after De André.

But enough of my yakking. Let the great Faber speak for himself. The first song, Il Pescatore, is my daughter’s favourite:

This next video shows De André performing the song that he felt represented him the most, Bocca di Rosa. If you understand Italian quite well, I suggest that you have a gander at the lyrics. It’s such a wonderfully colourful story and so well-written that I can actually see the faces of the characters he’s singing about.

Grazie Faber.

Entry filed under: Music.

Small town par-tay! I wish I was Wonder Woman

5 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Beatriz  |  12 January 2009 at 9:39 am

    Thank you for introducing me to this singer, his style reminds me of what is called “canción protesta” in Latin America. Love it!

    Glad to oblige, Beatriz! If I can get more people interested in De André’s music I’ll be a happy camper 🙂

    Reply
  • 2. Joanne at frutto della passione  |  12 January 2009 at 11:07 am

    I missed all the celebrations because I was trapped under laundry and enormous dust bunnies. But Bocca di Rosa is my fave too,

    Hope you managed to dig yourself out! Don’t worry, there’ll be other De André events going on all month.

    Reply
  • 3. Jessica, WhyGo Italy  |  17 January 2009 at 2:08 am

    It must be fate. I’d never heard of Fabrizio until I posted my Italian music mix:

    http://www.italylogue.com/featured-articles/soundtrack-for-italy-my-italian-music-mix.html

    And got guff for not putting Fabrizio on it! Turns out I know the song in the 2nd video, just didn’t know who it was. Anyway, I’ll have to learn more about him now, and will likely have to update my music mix later.

    Thanks for the videos!

    You learn something new every day! You definitely have to get De André on your list. Not only was his music beautiful, he wrote in such wonderfully poetic Italian. It’s such a pleasure to listen to his songs if you’re a language freak like me!

    Reply
  • 4. Linda  |  18 January 2009 at 2:45 pm

    Hi – Thanks for posting the music. I had never heard of this singer until my Italian friends mentioned his passing several weeks ago. I really enjoyed the clips.

    Glad you enjoyed them and thanks for visiting!

    Reply
  • 5. Val  |  27 January 2009 at 5:55 pm

    He reminds me of one of my favourite French singer/songwriters, who inspired Brel, Greco and countless others – Georges Brassens. You must check him out too!

    You have a fine ear, my friend. Wouldn’t you know that De André was heavily influenced by Brassens in his early days and translated some of his songs? You should check out more De André too, even if you don’t know Italian.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


MyFreeCopyright.com Registered & Protected
January 2009
S M T W T F S
« Dec   Feb »
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
25262728293031

Recent Posts

Pages

Blog Stats

  • 132,172 hits
Expat Women - Helping Women Living Overseas

Bookmark Milanese Masala

© Linda George and Milanese Masala, 2008-2009. Unauthorized use and/or duplication of this material without express and written permission from this blog’s author and/or owner is strictly prohibited. Excerpts and links may be used, provided that full and clear credit is given to Linda George and Milanese Masala with appropriate and specific direction to the original content.

Twitter Updates


