Blue is the new black

4 February 2009 at 12:18 am 7 comments

And no I haven’t become an Interista! I just wanted to keep you updated on our home reno. In my previous posts I showed you pics from the new kitchen. I’m loving it! Having a decent-sized kitchen makes it such a pleasure to cook. My daughter and I had a great time doing the Christmas baking together and I finally roasted a chicken to crispy perfection.
But just across the hall lay a vortex of confusion: the living room. Up until a  week ago it was jam-packed with boxes, bags and baby paraphernalia. I also had the sneaking suspicion that Elvis was lurking somewhere in the midst of all that mess, possibly close to the peanut butter and banana sandwich the workers left behind. But the hubby quickly cleared out the mess and made room for the painter to transform our hell hole into something a little less cringe-worthy.
Here are some before pics:
view of fireplace and french doors

view of fireplace and french doors

rooms-january-2009-003

picture it: a sofa and two armchairs in this space

rooms-january-2009-004

a view of the vomit-hued buffet that we inherited but that I really loathe

And after!

Ta da! Now in technicolor!!

Ta da! Now in technicolor!!

rooms-january-2009-003

il cielo in una stanza!

rooms-january-2009-004

I love the colour so much it even makes that buffet look almost decent

I’m really happy with the way the colour turned out in the living room. It’s always a bit hit or miss when you choose colours from a painter’s swatch but I really think it goes well with the floor and the wood fixtures. In a couple of weeks all the furniture will be arriving, some new, some antique, some Indian. Can’t wait! And I’ll be definitely taking more pics of the finished room.

Speaking of pictures, I was previewing the shots of the new living room when I happened to come across a few masterpieces snapped by my 5 yr old daughter on the sly. Like this:

rooms-january-2009-002

I almost dropped the camera after seeing that one! Well, I guess she has a few exposure issues to work out before she becomes the next Annie Leibovitz but I’ll give her an A for effort!

ciao ciao!

Entry filed under: house reno.

I wish I was Wonder Woman Becks: Milan forever, Galaxy never?

7 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Beatriz  |  4 February 2009 at 10:30 am

    Lovely shade of blue, and I agree, the buffet looks better because of the paint. Looking forward to the rest of the pictures, I am a sucker for before and afters.

    Thanks Beatriz! It’s incredible what colour can do, isn’t it?

    Reply
  • 2. joanne at frutto della passione  |  4 February 2009 at 12:01 pm

    Ha, I’ve found pics like that too, but back in the days before owning a digital – so we discovered them after paying to have them developed! Of course we kept them, something to show the girlfriends when they come over 😉

    What a good idea! Revenge is a dish best served cold 😉

    Reply
  • 3. nyc/caribbean ragazza  |  4 February 2009 at 2:42 pm

    very pretty shade of blue.

    glad to hear the new kitchen is working out well.

    Thanks! Me likey too!!

    Reply
  • 4. sue  |  5 February 2009 at 7:07 pm

    Cute! I remember touching my mom’s camera when I was her age and from my memory, it broke. I don’t know what I did to break it… maybe pressed a button. I harboured a bit of guilt from that. I had asked my mom recently about it and she said it was a cheap camera and that it actually broke on its own! I actually had nothing to do with it! Revelation at a later age!

    I like seeing your place in progress and I love the layout of the room and the fireplace. Your colours are so bold and brave! You know how boring I am! Can’t wait to see the finished version!! 🙂

    Thanks for sharing your camera story. But I have the sneaking suspicion that you really did break it and your mom is still trying to protect you from the overwhelming guilt you’d probably feel. Next time, stick to disposables, ok? 😉
    You should splash out and paint your place in bright colours too. It really brightens everything up.

    Reply
  • 5. LuLu  |  5 February 2009 at 7:43 pm

    I absolutely love that blue….you can’t help but feel happy and cheerful in a room painted that colour! You must be thrilled…nice improvement…can’t wait to see it all done up! 🙂

    Thanks! It really does make a difference!!

    Reply
  • 6. Kristen  |  21 February 2009 at 5:14 pm

    Glad to see that you roasted a chicken “to crispy perfection” in your nuova cucina. Yippee! You’ve sent my heart soaring. Are you sure this wasn’t your valentine’s day post? XOKP

    And you know, I only started roasting chickens because of you! The way you lovingly described the whole process and the end result made me want to try. After a few so-so attempts, I finally found the right way to roast chicken in my oven. And I sometimes make Yorkshire puddings and gravy. Oh yeah, baby!

    Reply
  • 7. Sonia P  |  9 March 2009 at 7:47 pm

    I love the color you’ve chosen. It’s so cheery and also calm at the same time.

    Thanks for stopping by Sonia! Yes, we like it too 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


MyFreeCopyright.com Registered & Protected
February 2009
S M T W T F S
« Jan   Mar »
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728

Recent Posts

Pages

Blog Stats

  • 132,396 hits
Expat Women - Helping Women Living Overseas

Bookmark Milanese Masala

© Linda George and Milanese Masala, 2008-2009. Unauthorized use and/or duplication of this material without express and written permission from this blog’s author and/or owner is strictly prohibited. Excerpts and links may be used, provided that full and clear credit is given to Linda George and Milanese Masala with appropriate and specific direction to the original content.

Twitter Updates


