“Your country is a joke.”

24 April 2009 at 12:00 am 12 comments

Ciao Bloggisti

I was planning on writing about food in this post, because I’ve eaten some great things of late, but a couple of things happened today that made me change my mind.

The first thing was an email I got from my brother. All it said was “Your country is a joke” and this link.Β  I thought something horrible had happened in Canada, that they made Ben Mulroney Prime Minister. But after clicking on the link I found it was yet another article about Berlusconi. Now, those of you who read my blog know how I feel about the man. But for the last month or so, he’s been grabbing the headlines on a virtually daily basis, almost always after putting his high-heeled foot in his big mouth. From the photo session with the Queen to his “camping holiday” remark in Abruzzo, il Berlusca never fails to disappoint with his “jokes”. And he’s got a captive audience who apparently love his special brand of humour because he won overwhelmingly in last year’s election, promising good times for all.

And someone sure had a good time with our garden this afternoon because when we got home from work, we found that some jokester had tried to pull out the jasmine that had just been planted. He/She/It ripped away the vines that were growing around our fence. And this animal did it in broad daylight, not giving a rat’s hoo haa if they were going to get caught destroying private property, because even if they did get caught, they probably weren’t going to be punished. It left me feeling nauseous. But I guess I shouldn’t let it get to me because in Italy, anything goes! It’s all fun and games! Right? This is the “Terra dei Cachi”, isn’t it?

What do you think? Is Italy becoming a joke? Are there any redeeming qualities left? Or should I just pack up and go back to Canada, even if Ben Mulroney is Prime Minister?

Entry filed under: Uncategorized.

Easter 1999 – Easter 2009 Desperation Poutine

12 Comments Add your own

  • 1. sue  |  24 April 2009 at 3:02 am

    Yowza! (But for selfish reasons, I think you should come back to Canada…)

    So, the question comes down to Harper or this Italian dude. Your choice.. :-/ Again… Yowza!!!

    I was fuming last night so I had to rant. So how bad is this Harper dude? Now if Ben Harper was Prime Minister, I’d move back in a flash πŸ˜‰

    Reply
  • 2. Beatriz  |  24 April 2009 at 10:00 am

    A joke! That is a way to look at it. Have you heard about the lega nord’s new law that makes it illegal for people to eat food on the street in Lombardia? You haven’t? You could be fine up to 3000 euros next time you eat your icecream outside! Here is the link http://www.corriere.it/cronache/09_aprile_22/lombardia_legge_kebab_damico_e8e858b2-2f00-11de-89c1-00144f02aabc.shtml

    Hi Beatriz! Yes, unfortunately I’m aware of the new law. When I went out the other night I saw people eating and consuming alcohol on the street but the police didn’t do anything. There was a protest in Milan yesterday. Are they going to arrest tourists enjoying their ice cream cones outside? I highly doubt it. Let’s see if they actually enforce this ridiculous law.

    Reply
  • 3. nyc/caribbean ragazza  |  24 April 2009 at 10:30 am

    I’m confused. Why were they trying to rip out the jasmine?!

    B. is a joke but given the global economy no place is perfect and the food here rocks.

    The opposite needs to get their act together so that people actually have a choice.

    The PD reminds me of the U.S. Demoncrats a few years ago. Disorganized and can’t come up with a clear message.

    I’m confused too. I have no idea why they would try and rip out the jasmine. Maybe they wanted some sprigs for themselves (it’s an expensive plant). Or maybe it was just a random act of vandalism. Who knows!

    The thing that gets my goat here is the lack of accountability and respect for others. People like B, the “furbetti”, are considered role models and those who do the right thing are poor little “fessi”. And that’s not the kind of culture I want my kids to grow up in.

    And you’re right, there is no choice, politically speaking. People need to wake up!

    Reply
    • 4. Carole in KC  |  28 April 2009 at 10:28 pm

      I suggest you go back to Canada! You’ll probably find out that things aren’t perfect there either.

      I know but it’s comforting to know that I have options πŸ™‚

      Reply
  • 5. petulia  |  24 April 2009 at 3:54 pm

    the country is a bit of a joke..but it is important for sane people to stay and make it better!

    So you’re saying I should stay? Well, the food is good. I’ll have to mull it over. πŸ˜‰

    Reply
  • 6. kataroma  |  24 April 2009 at 6:39 pm

    I feel the same way. Berla makes me angry but what makes me angrier is the culture which allows him to happen. As you say admiration for the furbetti. I can’t imagine teaching my daughter those values.

    If you have the option I’d say ‘go’. 😦

    Yeah, and I don’t know if he’s a product of the furbetti culture or if he’s perpetuating it. It’s the whole chicken and egg debate.
    But it would be hard for me to actually leave now. If I could only find a dream job in the Toronto area that would lure the hubby away I just might convince him. Or maybe we should stay just to spite the furbetti πŸ˜‰

    Reply
  • 7. anne  |  26 April 2009 at 6:28 pm

    How nasty of those rats to pull your Jamine from its roots, or even attempt to.

    If people are saying Italy is a joke, they should try living in the UK…such a big joke, rip off, bad government, I could go on….but I cannot leave, husband can’t either so we are stuck..but what I can do..is save up a few times a year and escape to ITALY …ha ha, love it there! We have had 3 brilliant holidays there in gorgeous places, met great people, ate great food, drank wine , etc etc..

    And I know a few Italians who’d love to move to the UK! Well, I guess the grass is always greener… πŸ™‚

    Reply
    • 8. Sam  |  23 April 2011 at 6:04 pm

      Hi Anne

      Im from the U.K living in Italy,and believe me it may be beautiful,but Italy is a terrible country to live in. The taxes are high,the jobs are scarce,the housing market is bloated and overpriced,the road stricture is terrible,the goverment is worse than the U.K (Berlusconi is a perverted,homophobic brat with no lack of leadership) Racism is becoming rife,crime is increasing,youths are becoming badly behaved,and the education system is terrible. Dont knock the U.K until you live somewhere else. Im moving back to York in a few months and cannot wait. Most Italians i know say they would come with me if they could and they think Italy is a hell hole with no future. Its a gorgeous country,with great food,people and culture,but in terms of living? god no its awful….

      Reply
  • 9. Kim B.  |  27 April 2009 at 5:22 pm

    Sadly, my Italian husband left Italy because of this same sentiment, so frustrated with his fellow countrymen who care for nothing but calcio, pretty girls on the tv, and tv . . .Friends often ask why we live in France (I’m American) and if we would ever move to Italy. If there were a fantastic offer for him there, something specific, maybe, but just to go back, I doubt it.

    I agree with ragazza, a big part of the problem is the lack of any credible opposition. But that just goes back (in part) to huge (inexplicable, in our view) support for the oaf Berlusconi.

    Sorry for the frustrations — and especially at the jasmine! Remember as everyone is saying the beautiful history, culture, and food and hang in there. But you’ve earned your right to rant!

    Thanks for stopping by! Yeah, I’ve stopped watching regular TV except for the news (never Mediaset, btw!). The only problem is that we still have to pay the annual TV fee to Rai.

    As for the lack of oppositions, it’s like the Who used to sing, “Meet the new boss, same as the old boss!”

    Is there anything you miss about Italy? Or the States?

    Reply
  • 10. Sierra  |  29 April 2009 at 4:58 am

    I enjoy visiting Italy as a tourist but I’d never want to live there as a resident. I cannot stand seeing wonderfully qualified employees being paid peanuts. To me, a university professor should NOT have to work on the weekends guiding tours through Roman ruins to make ends meet.
    I get frustrated with the standard shoulder shrug, “that’s just the way things are here!”

    I know! It really bothers me too. Unlike in France, Italians are good at complaining but will rarely do anything concrete about it. I don’t know if it’s complacency or just plain old fear.

    Reply
  • 11. khomala ramal  |  5 August 2009 at 11:26 am

    oh so it’s not just a malaysian thing then, to elect idiots into office. and now it appears alongs with the idiots, we’ve elected murderers as well. u have my symphathies but hey, look at the bright side, eh? how many yrs do u think Berla’s got left, the way he’s going? πŸ™‚
    cheers!

    Reply
  • 12. Tom  |  11 April 2011 at 2:55 pm

    Tragic, Italy has so much going for it.. it really is an indictment the country that Berlusconi, a dementia sufferer at best, is the best bloke for the job. Until recently, Gadaffi was the only poor sod that listened to him, but now he’s all alone.

    I’ve been living here for 15 years and I still don’t get it. I know so many great Italians but their reputations (and their futures) are being sullied by this “dementia sufferer”. Still, I have hope that the situation will change for the better. ‘Cause it can’t get any worse!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


MyFreeCopyright.com Registered & Protected
April 2009
S M T W T F S
« Mar   May »
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
2627282930  

Recent Posts

Pages

Blog Stats

  • 132,172 hits
Expat Women - Helping Women Living Overseas

Bookmark Milanese Masala

Β© Linda George and Milanese Masala, 2008-2009. Unauthorized use and/or duplication of this material without express and written permission from this blog’s author and/or owner is strictly prohibited. Excerpts and links may be used, provided that full and clear credit is given to Linda George and Milanese Masala with appropriate and specific direction to the original content.

Twitter Updates


