Tuscany or: how I learned to stop worrying and love nature

20 May 2009 at 1:01 am 11 comments

Ciao Bloggisti!

Just got back from a girls’ weekend in Dublin and will eventually post about that but for now I have a story about my Easter holiday in April…

Picture it: Tuscany – April 2009. I’m alone, sitting on the edge of the sofa bed in the agriturismo , nervously looking at the bucolic countryside from behind the comfort of the screen door. My family are somewhere frolicking outside and I’m trying to muster up the courage to go out and join them. Like Woody Allen, I’m not a big fan of the great outdoors. I grew up in Scarberia, for crying out loud! The closest I ever got to nature was cleaning the litter box. But that was a long time ago. I’m a grown woman now. I’ve backpacked around Europe and India, been through the joys of labour and childbirth, moved halfway across the globe and, most importantly, got through all the convoluted paperwork to get my Italian citizenship without losing my mind. No small feat. So, I can open the door and take on the rolling hills of Tuscany. I CAN DO THIS! SE PO’ FA!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

I slowly open the screen door and what do I see? A purty little kitty cat.

easter cat

Phew! It’s nice to see a familiar face. Me and cats, we’ve got a connection, see. I grew up with them and have two of my own now. But this kitty looks a bit on edge. It’s in pounce position, tail nervously flicking from side to side. All of a sudden I see a flash of fur shooting past. I lose sight of the cat for a second but then I notice it’s magically back in its original position. Something on the other side catches my eye. It’s a grey worm, twisting and writhing on the pavement. Strange. It didn’t rain last night. Why would there be worms around? Strange. I’ve never seen a grey worm before. Wait a minute! As the penny drops I look over at the cat and notice it’s chewing on something crunchy. OH MY GOD! A bony mouse  foot is sticking out of kitty’s mouth. That’s it! I’m outta here!!!!!! Cut to me sitting on the sofa bed once again, looking outside the screen door, calculating how many more hours I would have to endure before escaping to the comfort of big city smog.

Well, I may be exaggerating just a tad. Nature is actually growing on me in my old age. But that cat story is all true! I did manage to get over my initial hesitancy and ended up having a wonderful time in Tuscany, in the Maremma countryside to be precise. We stayed in a comfortable apartment inside an old but recently refurbished stone villa, surrounded by hills, olive groves and vineyards. It was heaven.

agriturismo easter 234

This agriturismo wasn’t an all-inclusive, luxury inn. But to me, it was a taste of the real Tuscany. It’s a little gem of a place,  close to Etruscan archaeological sites, medieval villages, hiking paths, Maremma’s famous horse ranches and seaside towns. It was also perfect for the kids. There was lots of space for them to run freely outside and they had a great time playing with the animals, especially the chickens and the aforementioned killer cats. The children thoroughly enjoyed themselves, so much so that my daughter wants to live in Tuscany now. That won’t be happening any time soon but we will definitely go back to the Maremma, grey worms and all.

diggy &dad easter 2009

Entry filed under: Bambini, Italy, Travel. Tags: , , , , .

Desperation Poutine Magic Italy!

11 Comments Add your own

  • 1. sue  |  20 May 2009 at 4:45 am

    I LOVE that picture of your boys!!!!! 🙂

    Thanks! I like it too 🙂

    Reply
  • 2. Val Tidone  |  20 May 2009 at 9:06 am

    Beatiful places, hope to take a tour there very soon enjoing in the agriturismo 🙂

    It really is a special place. Hope you make it out there.

    Reply
  • 3. nyc/caribbean ragazza  |  20 May 2009 at 10:37 am

    ha. sounds like heaven (except for that cat and mouse situation).

    I hope to never run into that situation again!

    Reply
  • 4. anne  |  22 May 2009 at 11:12 pm

    Wow such a beautiful place..yes love the picture of your boys!! So cute.

    Thanks Anne!!

    Reply
  • 5. Kristen  |  25 May 2009 at 7:14 pm

    Was there a nod to Sophia of The Golden Girls? Funny story!

    Why yes! Your cheesecake is in the mail!!!

    Reply
  • 6. Frances  |  16 June 2009 at 9:06 pm

    I saw a mousie foot in a kitty’s mouth once, and practically took flight!
    Hope all is well.
    Ciao Bella

    Reply
  • 7. Michelle | Bleeding Espresso  |  16 June 2009 at 10:43 pm

    OK you need to come down here and play with some goats…they’re harmless and adorable. Perfect!

    As long as I don’t see them eating live creatures that’s fine by me 🙂
    And your goats are carinissime!!

    Reply
  • 8. lucy  |  18 June 2009 at 4:14 pm

    Hi, I just stumbled upon your blog from? I can’t remember anyway, I grew up in Scarborough, Brimley and Kingston road area and was constantly outdoors, Bluffs mostly…lol.
    Your so lucky to be able to travel to Italy. Sounds like your having a wonderful time.

    Hey! I grew up in the Ellesmere/Bellamy area so not too close to anything as beautiful as the Bluffs. Mainly strip malls, schools and the occasional park. Nature for me was my backyard and the occasional strawberry-picking trip. My girl guide excursion was to the kitchen of the local McDonald’s. I kid you not!

    Thanks so much for stopping by!

    Reply
  • 9. A day at the agriturismo « Milanese Masala  |  26 July 2009 at 6:06 am

    […] of or visited an agriturismo. I mentioned our visit to a rustic agriturismo in Tuscany a couple of posts back. In my opinion, it is one of the best ways to experience Italy. An agriturismo (a combination of […]

    Reply
  • 10. Cherrye at My Bella Vita  |  29 January 2010 at 10:58 am

    Eek (re: the cat and mouse thing!) but what a beautiful place!

    I still have nightmares about it! But seriously, it was a wonderful holiday. Might go back again this year 🙂

    Reply
  • 11. Italy Expat Travel Bloggers Roundup | My Bella Vita  |  2 February 2010 at 7:02 am

    […] Linda of Milanese Masala writes about learning to love nature in a peaceful Tuscan agriturismo while watching a not-so entertaining game of cat and […]

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


MyFreeCopyright.com Registered & Protected
May 2009
S M T W T F S
« Apr   Jun »
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930
31  

Recent Posts

Pages

Blog Stats

  • 132,172 hits
Expat Women - Helping Women Living Overseas

Bookmark Milanese Masala

© Linda George and Milanese Masala, 2008-2009. Unauthorized use and/or duplication of this material without express and written permission from this blog’s author and/or owner is strictly prohibited. Excerpts and links may be used, provided that full and clear credit is given to Linda George and Milanese Masala with appropriate and specific direction to the original content.

Twitter Updates


