Happy Birthday to a Crazy Old Broad!!

17 March 2011 at 2:43 am 3 comments

And no I’m not talking about Betty White. The signora in question is Italy and she’s 150 years young. Today the entire country (except those mean green Leghisti) is waving the green white and red to celebrate Italian unification.

Patriotism has never been an easy sentiment for Italians. They feel more kinship to their own town or region than to their country. This is natural for a relatively new nation with such a fractured past. And these days, most Italians weren’t even in the mood to celebrate the anniversary, what with all the political, economic and cultural turmoil. Up until recently, everyone from politicians to business leaders were debating whether or not March 17 should be declared a national holiday. This was a bit shocking to me even if chronic existential crises over national unity is nothing new to a Canadian.

But in the end hatchets were buried and schools and offices will be closed all over Italy. I tried to get my kids interested in the occasion and taught my daughter the national anthem (as I’m pretty sure they don’t do it at school anymore). The kids also came home with tricolore flags and were very proud when I hung them outside. We also inadvertently celebrated over dinner this evening. Bellie and Diggy insisted on having both tomato sauce and pesto with their gnocchi, because tomato sauce alone would have been just too healthy an option. After I finished serving I noticed that their dishes were in keeping with the patriotic theme.

Then I asked my husband to briefly explain the Risorgimento to the kids but they were more interested in wolfing down taleggio cheese and singing, or rather, screaming the national anthem than hearing about Garibaldi and Mazzini.

Perhaps I’ll let them watch Roberto Benigni’s subdued rendition of the Inno di Mameli from this year’s San Remo festival. It conveys all the strength, elegance and emotion that unites all the citizens of this maddeningly wonderful country.

Viva l’Italia!!

Entry filed under: Bambini, Italy. Tags: , .

I’ve got nothing to say but it’s ok Pumpkins and devils and Poncherello! Oh my!!

3 Comments Add your own

  • 1. nyc/caribbean ragazza  |  17 March 2011 at 1:50 pm

    Are there a lot of flags on display in Milan?

    There’s quite a nice sprinkling here. Not many by American standards but a lot by European standard.

    A lot of people in town hung flags from their balconies and windows. The kids got free flags from the mayor. Not sure in Milan but from what I saw in the local news, the Milanese were in a party mood, wearing flags, long lines at the Museo del Risorgimento, etc. It was nice!

    Reply
  • 2. Joanne  |  17 March 2011 at 2:54 pm

    Luca learned the anthem when he was 4. We watched the summer olympics a lot that summer and everytime an Italian won a gold he would stand in front of the television and sing his heart out.

    Aw, how sweet! My kids have been singing the anthem ALL DAY!! I can hear Bellie whistling it right now. I think I’ve heard enough for the next 150 years 😉

    Reply
  • 3. AA  |  2 April 2011 at 7:16 pm

    I was reassured to find your posts about my favorite shows (Conchords, 30 Rock, etc.) in Milan. Do you watch them on TV –or internet? Dubbed and English both? I may leave NY for Milan, and I’ve been wondering what shows I would lose. (If you choose to reply, a private note is good too.) Thx.

    Hi! I can see most of my favourite shows on Sky (a private satellite network). It’s not cheap but worth it. And there are a lot of HBO shows as well. Let me know if you move to Milan!

    Reply

Leave a comment

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


MyFreeCopyright.com Registered & Protected
March 2011
S M T W T F S
 12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
2728293031  

Pages

Blog Stats

  • 136,149 hits
Expat Women - Helping Women Living Overseas

Bookmark Milanese Masala

© Linda George and Milanese Masala, 2008-2009. Unauthorized use and/or duplication of this material without express and written permission from this blog’s author and/or owner is strictly prohibited. Excerpts and links may be used, provided that full and clear credit is given to Linda George and Milanese Masala with appropriate and specific direction to the original content.