The search for George

30 April 2008 at 12:35 pm 6 comments

Ciao Bloggisti!

Last week the fam and I went on a day trip to Lake Como, ostensibly to enjoy the fine spring weather in a beautiful setting. But what I didn’t tell my husband was that I was secretly hoping to bump into George Clooney. And no, it’s not what you think. Mine is a purely intellectual interest. I admire his filmmaking, love of Italy and political activism. Yeah. That’s it…..

 

Our first pit stop was for lunch in the town of Lierna (LC). We went to a restaurant called Crotto di Lierna. Typical country decor, very friendly service and attentive to kids and women who treat their yappy little dogs like kids. Yes, there was a customer who kept her dog in one of those chi-chi little carriers.  George would not have approved.

The restaurant specializes in grilled meats and pasta dishes. I have to say that I wasn’t that impressed with either although my husband quite enjoyed his gnocchi di zucca con bitto, rosmarino e pancetta (pumpkin gnocchi with bitto cheese, rosemary and bacon). 

For me, the highpoint was dessert. I ordered a cialda di mandorle con mousse ai tre cioccolati (almond wafer with three different types of chocolate mousse). Beautiful and delish! There was a scoop of white, dark and hazelnut chocolate mousse and the cialda was resting on a nice white and dark chocolate sauce. My daughter enjoyed nibbling the chocolate decoration on top of the mousse.

 

 

 

The prices at the Crotto were average but a bit too high considering the overall quality. I don’t know if I’d ever go back unless GC begged me to discuss politics over a glass of red wine and a steak.

 

Then we headed to the beautiful lakeside town of Varenna or as one website put it: “a corner of Heaven diped in the blue… a pearl set between lake and mountain, nursed by the breeze and kissed by the sun… a place at the limts of the time where modern services marry with its old notoriety, that touch every corner of the world.”  Diped in the blue? Nursed by the breeze and kissed by the sun? Old notoriety?!? Sounds more like an old hooker than a town. I love bad translations, don’t you?

 

 

 

We spent the rest of the afternoon feeding the ducks, strolling and dodging the gazillion tourists. Mainly Milanese and American. Some of the women had that hungry look in their eye that they usually get during sales. They were sniffing out the place, desperate for a glimpse of GC. Their desperation was palpable. Mine, on the other hand, was well-concealed beneath my doting-mother-of-two guise.

While pretending to sightsee, the Canuck in me was thrilled to come across some maple trees in the square. But they weren’t like the ones back home. These ones had no leaves and were candelabra-shaped. Neat, eh?

 

 

 

By the end of the afternoon , the kids had reached their meltdown point so we decided to pack up and head home. It is with a heavy heart that I report that I was unsuccessful in my search for Mr. Nespresso. Alas, our date with destiny was not to be. Of course, this just means that I’ll have to find another excuse to head back to the lake this summer. What else…

Entry filed under: Food, Italy, Restaurants, Travel.

Madamism and other random thoughts Salut de Paris!

6 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Bee in Italy, Debby  |  30 April 2008 at 2:55 pm

    I found your site through my friend at Suitcase Contents. I love Como and the area. I’ve been a couple of times with no sign of Mr Clooney. But I am young enough to hope to go again.

    Hey Bee! Thanks for dropping by! That George is a sneaky one, isn’t he?

    Reply
  • 2. Bee in Italy, Debby  |  30 April 2008 at 4:10 pm

    He must have the best disguises! The copyright is a great thing. I had someone copy my work, I am not an amazing writer and I don’t hope to make money from my blog, but it still feel violating to have someone copy from me. If you click on the copyright I have (on anyone’s), it will open into the site where you choose what copyright you want. It is one of the easiest things I have done… ONE of the only easy ones. I find blogging fun, but hard work!

    Thanks for the advice! Really appreciate it. I love blogging. The problem is finding the time to do it.

    Reply
  • 3. Erin  |  30 April 2008 at 8:35 pm

    I’m sorry that your search was unsuccessful! Better luck next time. I’d love to go there one day. Maybe one day you can be my tour guide : )

    If you ever do come there is a ferry boat driver in Como who has an uncanny resemblance to GC. Coincidence? Hmmmm…

    Reply
  • 4. Beatriz  |  1 May 2008 at 9:24 am

    When we moved to this area, we had no idea that Clooneysm was all the rage, but this was THE recurrent theme amongst our new Italian friends, to point out that George has a house in lake Como, and that he loves Italy. I love Italy, I love George! Oh we have so much in common!

    You know, I think he needs Italian lessons. And we could teach him! What do you say?

    Reply
  • 5. nyc/caribbean ragazza  |  1 May 2008 at 2:14 pm

    Ha. He is so handsome, pics do not do him justice. When I was working in Toronto, we (my boss and I) went to the after party for the movie Michael Clayton. I hid behind an SUV because I did not want Clooney to ask my boss, “who is that woman who keeps staring at me?” ha

    LOL! I’m sure ole GC is used to people staring at him. You sure are lucky to have seen him in person.

    Reply
  • […] This post was originally posted here.   Last week the fam and I went on a day trip to Lake Como, ostensibly to enjoy the fine spring […]

    Reply

Leave a comment

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


MyFreeCopyright.com Registered & Protected
April 2008
S M T W T F S
 12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
27282930  

Pages

Blog Stats

  • 136,147 hits
Expat Women - Helping Women Living Overseas

Bookmark Milanese Masala

© Linda George and Milanese Masala, 2008-2009. Unauthorized use and/or duplication of this material without express and written permission from this blog’s author and/or owner is strictly prohibited. Excerpts and links may be used, provided that full and clear credit is given to Linda George and Milanese Masala with appropriate and specific direction to the original content.