My favourite screen kisses

14 February 2009 at 12:53 am 3 comments

Ciao Bloggisti!

Now, I’m not a big fan of Valentine’s Day. The idea of “love” being forcefed down my throat like a foie gras goose really triggers a gag reflex in me. In fact, to counter all the sappy, chocolate-filled twee, I’m going out to listen to some combat rock tomorrow night. I’m also a big supporter of San Faustino, the patron saint of singletons. You can read all about him at Bleeding Espresso.

BUT, while I was cooking dinner tonight, muttering to myself about the state of the world and the commercialization of love,  I happened to hear some music on the news that instantly turned this cynical old broad into mush. It was the the soundtrack to the Academy Award-winning film Cinema Paradiso.

There’s something about that movie that turns me into a blubbering idiot, no matter how many times I watch it. Especially the final scene. Now, if you haven’t seen it (and shame on you if you haven’t!) this is a spoiler alert. In this last scene, successful film director Salvatore is back in Rome after attending the funeral of  his mentor and father-figure Alfredo. Salvatore watches the old reel of film that Alfredo left for him and is moved to discover that it’s a montage of all the “risqué” kissing scenes that were cut from the films shown at the Cinema back in the day.  It’s practically a collection of the most famous screen kisses from Italian and American cinema. You’d have to be made of stone not to swoon at this scene.  So, it’s with this that I reluctantly wish you all a Happy Valentine’s Day:

Baci baci!

Entry filed under: Entertainment, Film, Italy, romance.

Becks: Milan forever, Galaxy never? Do Over Day

3 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Joanne at frutto della passione  |  14 February 2009 at 11:19 am

    One of my all time favourite film endings!

    It’s great, isn’t it. And now that I live here, I’m able to recognize a lot of the films and actors in that montage. Did you catch Totò’s kiss?

    Reply
  • 2. onlyinmaine  |  14 February 2009 at 4:04 pm

    Perfect for Valentines day!
    One of my favorite Italian flicks.

    Glad you enjoyed it. Thanks for stopping by!

    Reply
  • 3. nyc/caribbean ragazza  |  23 February 2009 at 11:40 am

    Love, love, love that movie.

    I never get tired of watching it.

    Reply

Leave a comment

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


MyFreeCopyright.com Registered & Protected
February 2009
S M T W T F S
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728

Pages

Blog Stats

  • 136,133 hits
Expat Women - Helping Women Living Overseas

Bookmark Milanese Masala

© Linda George and Milanese Masala, 2008-2009. Unauthorized use and/or duplication of this material without express and written permission from this blog’s author and/or owner is strictly prohibited. Excerpts and links may be used, provided that full and clear credit is given to Linda George and Milanese Masala with appropriate and specific direction to the original content.