Do Over Day

27 February 2009 at 12:57 pm 3 comments

Ciao Bloggisti!

 

It’s a day late but I just wanted to let you know about this revolutionary new holiday that was celebrated in Canada on the 26th. It’s called Do Over Day and it was founded by a guy called Reggie (?).

 

It was initially created for Canadians, considering our polite yet passive-aggressive nature tempered with “a collective deep sense of embarrassment about our many flaws”. But I think it could work on a world-wide level.

 

The idea behind it is fantastic. Basically, it’s a way of reliving the most significant moments of your lives or going back to undo something you really regretted. As they say on their official website, “Imagine re-enjoying your first kiss, the birth of your first child, or even your first marriage. Picture yourself re-experiencing the fabulous meals you’ve eaten, the exotic lands you’ve visited, the epic raves you cannot recall attending. Conversely, visualize yourself making amends for your life’s imperfect moments – the time you made a pass at your wife’s sister and got caught, or the night driving home from the pub when you accidentally ran over your neighbour’s shihtzu…”. It’s like travelling back in time, righting wrongs, undoing the woulda, coulda, shouldas that burden our daily lives. Now who wouldn’t want a second chance?

 

There are some videos on the  site but I think the best “do over” in cinematic history is in Superman. I’m pretty sure you all remember this scene, when a distraught Man of Steel discovers that he’s too late to save his beloved Lois. I still get goosebumps when I watch this, and not because of Marlon Brando’s giant head floating in the sky:  

 

 

Sigh! Now that’s love!! 

 

So now I’d really love to hear what you’d like to do over. As for me, I really wish I could go back to the time I tried out for Jeopardy when I was in high school. I would just love the opportunity to tell Alex Trebek what I really think of him.

 

Ok, so get your regret caps on and start thinking!!

Add to FacebookAdd to NewsvineAdd to DiggAdd to Del.icio.usAdd to StumbleuponAdd to RedditAdd to BlinklistAdd to TwitterAdd to TechnoratiAdd to Furl

Entry filed under: Canada, Film, random thoughts. Tags: , , .

My favourite screen kisses Eating guitar strings

3 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Kristen  |  27 February 2009 at 5:31 pm

    I would do over…what exactly? I’m not sure. I always say I would do over bad fashion choices, like stirrup pants or wearing beige, but then we wouldn’t have all of those bad pictures to laugh at. Really, I wouldn’t do over a thing. I guess I’m a bad Canadian 🙂

    No, you’re a perfect Canadian because you can laugh at yourself. And I was (and still am) rather proud of my stirrup pants, thank you very much! My fluorescent pink sweatshirt and matching earrings on the other hand…

    Reply
  • 2. nyc/caribbean ragazza  |  2 March 2009 at 5:31 pm

    Ha, I’m not sure what I would do over, there is so much to choose from. ha

    I’m trying very hard to learn from my mistakes and not obsess over them (like I used to!).

    That’s a very wise philosophy. But still, I’m curious to find out what you got up to before 😉

    Reply
  • 3. rowena  |  2 March 2009 at 5:35 pm

    That’s a tough one, because after the 12th do over desire I figured that if I changed only one, it would throw the accompanying non-regrettables out of whack. Just an example: if I had dumped then boyfriend #1, I wouldn’t have gotten married and had my son.

    Oh, and sniggles on the comment regarding bigoli. With the way I had worded that comment, I hope no one thought I was actually insuating something in particular about my husband! 😆

    Yes, it’s all very Sliding Doors-ish in a way. Even our present mistakes are important in shaping our future selves.

    Reply

Leave a comment

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


MyFreeCopyright.com Registered & Protected
February 2009
S M T W T F S
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728

Pages

Blog Stats

  • 136,133 hits
Expat Women - Helping Women Living Overseas

Bookmark Milanese Masala

© Linda George and Milanese Masala, 2008-2009. Unauthorized use and/or duplication of this material without express and written permission from this blog’s author and/or owner is strictly prohibited. Excerpts and links may be used, provided that full and clear credit is given to Linda George and Milanese Masala with appropriate and specific direction to the original content.