Archive for 2 September 2008

The centre of the universe, man!

 

Ciao Bloggisti!

The first thing I noticed was the sky. I couldn’t put my finger on it but it seemed different somehow. It was bigger, bluer, with a certain crispness about it that even made the usually drab colours of the cookie-cutter subdivision stand out. That was my first reflection upon arriving in Toronto, my hometown. Perhaps I’d gotten too used to the hazy Lombard air. Whatever it was, just looking at those open Canadian skies made me feel good. And it was a good omen of things to come. 

I’m still recovering from jet lag and my first day back at work but I just wanted to let you all know that I had a fantastic time in the town we Torontonians consider the centre of the universe. I spent less than a month there but I managed to meet up with so many old friends and relatives and got to relive so many childhood memories that I think I need another holiday just to recover. I stayed in the rockin’ suburb of Scarborough, visited the Beaches, the Distillery District, Kensington, Centre Island, Greektown on the Danforth, Davisville, Brampton, the St. Lawrence Market area, Ontario Place, the Yonge Street strip, the Ex and last but not least, the grand old STC (Scarborough Town Centre).

 

Once I settle in to my old routine I’m going to post a few stories about my stay in Canada but here’s a sneak preview of some of the beautiful and curious things I saw:

 

The ever-changing Toronto skyline

Scarborough Hinterland’s Who’s Who: a groundhog

 

The delightful Community Vehicular Reclamation Project in Kensington

The Beaches, Toronto

Parliament Hill (Ottawa, not Toronto)

 

To be continued, eh….

2 September 2008 at 6:59 pm 4 comments


MyFreeCopyright.com Registered & Protected
September 2008
S M T W T F S
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
282930  

Pages

Blog Stats

  • 136,117 hits
Expat Women - Helping Women Living Overseas

Bookmark Milanese Masala

© Linda George and Milanese Masala, 2008-2009. Unauthorized use and/or duplication of this material without express and written permission from this blog’s author and/or owner is strictly prohibited. Excerpts and links may be used, provided that full and clear credit is given to Linda George and Milanese Masala with appropriate and specific direction to the original content.