The centre of the universe, man!

2 September 2008 at 6:59 pm 4 comments

 

Ciao Bloggisti!

The first thing I noticed was the sky. I couldn’t put my finger on it but it seemed different somehow. It was bigger, bluer, with a certain crispness about it that even made the usually drab colours of the cookie-cutter subdivision stand out. That was my first reflection upon arriving in Toronto, my hometown. Perhaps I’d gotten too used to the hazy Lombard air. Whatever it was, just looking at those open Canadian skies made me feel good. And it was a good omen of things to come. 

I’m still recovering from jet lag and my first day back at work but I just wanted to let you all know that I had a fantastic time in the town we Torontonians consider the centre of the universe. I spent less than a month there but I managed to meet up with so many old friends and relatives and got to relive so many childhood memories that I think I need another holiday just to recover. I stayed in the rockin’ suburb of Scarborough, visited the Beaches, the Distillery District, Kensington, Centre Island, Greektown on the Danforth, Davisville, Brampton, the St. Lawrence Market area, Ontario Place, the Yonge Street strip, the Ex and last but not least, the grand old STC (Scarborough Town Centre).

 

Once I settle in to my old routine I’m going to post a few stories about my stay in Canada but here’s a sneak preview of some of the beautiful and curious things I saw:

 

The ever-changing Toronto skyline

Scarborough Hinterland’s Who’s Who: a groundhog

 

The delightful Community Vehicular Reclamation Project in Kensington

The Beaches, Toronto

Parliament Hill (Ottawa, not Toronto)

 

To be continued, eh….

Entry filed under: Canada, toronto, Travel.

Greetings from Toronto!! The Omnivore’s Hundred

4 Comments Add your own

  • 1. nyc/caribbean ragazza  |  3 September 2008 at 4:49 pm

    I lived 3 blocks away from St. Lawrence market.

    I’m still think about those bagels.

    Glad to hear you had a nice trip.

    Wow! You’re from NYC and you like T.O. bagels? They must have been good!
    Hey, did you ever go to the Bier Markt on the Esplanade?

    Reply
  • 2. adrienne  |  3 September 2008 at 8:49 pm

    hi there!
    great pics! I just got back from a short trip to T.O. too, where I wished i’m taken a photo of _that_ car in Kensington. the sky always looks huge when you first arrive…
    just discovered your blog and i’m looking forward to exploring your experiences between canada and italy…

    Hi Adrienne! Thanks so much for stopping by. Isn’t that car thing a great idea? Hope you enjoy my humble blog.

    Reply
  • 3. Erin  |  4 September 2008 at 4:13 am

    Sounds like you had a good time! Can’t wait to hear more about it. It does seem to me that Torontonians DO think they are in the centre of the universe : ) My sis-in-law lived there for many years and every time she came home that’s how she talked. Too funny. Well I think the prairies are the centre of the universe…or the middle of nowhere…either way, still somewhere in the centre, lol! Welcome back!

    Thanks Erin! Yeah, we are obnoxiously proud of ourselves. Well, if you have ketchup chips in the prairies then I guess it, too, qualifies for “centre of the universe” status 😉

    Reply
  • 4. lucy  |  5 September 2008 at 4:02 pm

    Anyhow, nice to see you had a nice trip. I wish I could have met up with you as I’m one stop south of Davisville. Being a Torontonian who lived in the beaches area, moved to Scarborough, then moved to Pickering I don’t believe most Torontonians think they are the centre of the Universe…don’t know where that attitude comes from but hey all the power to them. I love Toronto and SCARBOROUGH which may surprise some. Pickering is okay but I do love what’s north of Pickering…all that farm land and conservation area. Look forward to more of your blogging of Toronto and where you currently live….love love Italy. Ciao Bella.

    I don’t really think we’re the centre of the universe but people outside Toronto usually accuse of acting like it. It’s all envy, I tell ya! And Scarborough is great! I spent way too much time at the Scarborough Town Centre though. With what I spent there they have to give me a star on their “Walk of Fame” 😉

    Reply

Leave a comment

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


MyFreeCopyright.com Registered & Protected
September 2008
S M T W T F S
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
282930  

Pages

Blog Stats

  • 136,149 hits
Expat Women - Helping Women Living Overseas

Bookmark Milanese Masala

© Linda George and Milanese Masala, 2008-2009. Unauthorized use and/or duplication of this material without express and written permission from this blog’s author and/or owner is strictly prohibited. Excerpts and links may be used, provided that full and clear credit is given to Linda George and Milanese Masala with appropriate and specific direction to the original content.