McIndia in Italy

14 July 2008 at 7:07 pm 9 comments

Ciao Bloggisti!

Everyone have a good weekend? Hope so. I just got back from a weekend in Liguria, a sort of cottage country for the Milanese. So with all the traffic, pit stops and toddler crises, it basically took us 5 hours to travel 200 km. But we did manage to relax a bit on the beach on Saturday and the kids had a great time. We even went to a local festival, a sagra, where they served inexpensive local food and a very cheesy band playing polka and the Village People. I’ll post more about that some other time.

To add to our culinary adventures, on our way back from Liguria we stopped for lunch at McDonald’s on the highway. It’s become a sort of family tradition. Even if I’ve lived here for over 10 years, I still need that dose of McDs once in a while. You can take a girl out of Scarborough….

Speaking of which, after we made the long, hot trek from the parking lot to the restaurant, I took a look inside and thought I was back home. The place was full of my people, i.e Indians, South Asians, etc. I have to admit I was taken aback. Despite the recent influx of immigrants to Italy, you still don’t see too many people of Indian origin around. So to find the McDonald’s full of them was odd, but in a good way. I guess they were a busload of tourists on a lunch break, sampling the local cuisine ; ) I took the opportunity to point out to my daughter the lovely salwar kameez and saris the women were wearing. She was thrilled to see all the colourful shawls and the people who looked more like Mommy.

So, to further Indian-Italian relations, I’d like to share this clip from comic Russell Peters (who happens to be Canadian). Slightly crude but all in good fun.

(Warning: nsfw)

Entry filed under: Food, Italy, masala, Restaurants, Travel.

Itanglish Korner Summer romance

9 Comments Add your own

  • 1. LuLu  |  14 July 2008 at 8:17 pm

    Russell Peters is SO funny. He knows no boundaries!! Love it!!

    Thanks for your comment, LuLu! He’s great, isn’t he?

    Reply
  • 2. nyc/caribbean ragazza  |  14 July 2008 at 8:33 pm

    very funny. haha

    Glad you enjoyed it!

    Reply
  • 3. rowena  |  15 July 2008 at 8:02 am

    I am so effin* laughing right now. Hey! WTF?!? *I* do that hand motion now!!

    So do I!! But maybe it’s because I’m always hungry!

    Reply
  • 4. Joanne at Frutto della Passione  |  15 July 2008 at 10:05 am

    And he’s from Brampton!

    Well, nobody’s perfect 😉

    Reply
  • 5. My Mélange  |  15 July 2008 at 2:21 pm

    Funny stuff!! I know about the McD’s thing too!! Sometimes I just need to have some of those fries 🙂

    Yeah, I need my fry fix once in a while too. Some foodie I am!

    Reply
  • 6. Jessica, Italy Logue  |  17 July 2008 at 3:28 am

    Man, I haven’t eaten at a McDonald’s in the US for so many years, I can’t even remember the last time I set foot in one… I just couldn’t do it after watching “Super Size Me” – ha! But I do love a good *real* burger now & then, so either I’ll have to cook ’em myself now & again, or find the nearest Hard Rock Cafe for a periodic fix. Of course, I’ll have to do it in secret, so none of my foodie friends find out. 😉

    Ooooh! I can’t wait to eat a real burger when I go home next month. They just don’t know how to make them over here.

    Reply
  • 7. lucy  |  29 July 2008 at 5:15 pm

    I lived in Scarborough! Love the Scarborough Bluffs!
    Now I live on the border of Pickering/Scarborough by the rouge river! Love Russell Peters!

    Reply
  • 8. lucy  |  29 July 2008 at 5:20 pm

    haha, you can’t take the Scarborough out of the girl…it’s true so many of my friends always say that when we’re at parties and gatherings! I don’t care what anyone says, there are good parts of Scarborough!

    Scarborough is the centre of the universe!!!

    Reply
  • 9. khomala  |  19 August 2008 at 4:16 pm

    LOL.. Russel Peters is so darn funny. He had another one in NEw York i think… i had to hit pause while i fell off the chair, laughing my bums off.
    The pix of the dishes at the sagra look yummy..well mostly. THe baby octopus thingy didn’t quite work for me but the rest look real good. nothing vegetarian, i guess?

    I know! And glad you liked the pix. Baby octupus is actually really good, especially with potatoes. There was some pasta with pesto which would be perfect for vegetarians.

    Reply

Leave a comment

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


MyFreeCopyright.com Registered & Protected
July 2008
S M T W T F S
 12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
2728293031  

Pages

Blog Stats

  • 136,133 hits
Expat Women - Helping Women Living Overseas

Bookmark Milanese Masala

© Linda George and Milanese Masala, 2008-2009. Unauthorized use and/or duplication of this material without express and written permission from this blog’s author and/or owner is strictly prohibited. Excerpts and links may be used, provided that full and clear credit is given to Linda George and Milanese Masala with appropriate and specific direction to the original content.