Addicted to DVDs

19 March 2009 at 10:51 pm 2 comments

Ciao Bloggisti!
Ah! Exercising in the great outdoors, breathing in the fresh sea air, at one with Mother Nature…
Photo credit: mikebaird

Photo credit: mikebaird

BOOOORING! And dangerous. You could trip and fall down a cliff, or get cooked by those nasty UV rays or worse still, get bugs in your hair and teeth. Nah, not for me!
Sour grapes? Ok, maybe just a little but the truth is, I just don’t have the time to get out there and jog. And the idea doesn’t really appeal to me in the first place. The only way I’d run is if I was being chased by a bear wielding a large mallet. So how’s a working mom supposed to get in shape before the summer? DVDs baby!
I decided to order a couple of simple workout DVDs that I could do from the comfort of my family room. Since I’m a lazy slob at heart, I wasn’t sure I would have had the discipline to actually wake up a few minutes earlier every morning to exercise. But except for a break when the kids and I were sick, I’ve surprised myself and stuck to my regimen. The DVD I’ve been using the most is 10 Minute Solution – Target Toning for Beginners. It has five 10 minute workouts focusing on areas like arms, thighs, abs and “glutes”. I only do 10 minutes a day because of my tight schedule but I find the workouts effective even if the chipper blonde instructor sort of annoys me. When I have a few extra minutes I also do the Pilates Weight Loss Workout for Dummies but the pace is a lot faster than your classic Pilates course. Let’s hope I’ll be ready for that “prova costume” but don’t expect me to post pics of me in a bikini! Not gonna happen!!!
I could, however, post some shots of me and my guitar.
guitar-feb-2009
Nice, eh? I’ve also decided to go the DVD route with this baby. I bought the  Learning Guitar for Dummies book and DVD and while I find it difficult at times, it’s clear and teaches me basic chords and styles. I don’t know if I’ll ever be good enough to play a Beatles song but it keeps me busy. Like I didn’t have enough to do!
p.s. There’s still time to leave a comment for the book giveaway! You have until midnight (ET). The winner will be announced next week.

p.p.s the Ultimate Blog Party starts tomorrow!!

Add to FacebookAdd to NewsvineAdd to DiggAdd to Del.icio.usAdd to StumbleuponAdd to RedditAdd to BlinklistAdd to TwitterAdd to TechnoratiAdd to Furl

Entry filed under: exercise, guitar, Music. Tags: , , , , , .

Blogiversary and Book Giveaway! Festivus – Masala style!

2 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Joanne at frutto della passione  |  20 March 2009 at 12:13 am

    Woo hoo, look at you with that guitar, Carmen Consoli step aside for Mz M.M.!
    Isn’t that you jogging?

    Thanks but that ain’t me babe. Unfortunately those aren’t my “glutes”.

    Reply
  • 2. Sierra  |  20 March 2009 at 12:17 am

    I love exercise DVDs too. I started doing the P90x series. Very very challenging! I recommend it though. The trainer (Tony Horton) explains things well and isn’t pushy. (plus he’s quite funny)

    And the great thing about DVDs is that they are a lot easier on the wallet than a course, even if I still believe it’s the best way to exercise. I think I have to wait a bit before I tackle the hard stuff. Horton, you say? It might be dangerous for me. He’d make me think of donuts 😉

    Reply

Leave a comment

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


MyFreeCopyright.com Registered & Protected
March 2009
S M T W T F S
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
293031  

Pages

Blog Stats

  • 136,133 hits
Expat Women - Helping Women Living Overseas

Bookmark Milanese Masala

© Linda George and Milanese Masala, 2008-2009. Unauthorized use and/or duplication of this material without express and written permission from this blog’s author and/or owner is strictly prohibited. Excerpts and links may be used, provided that full and clear credit is given to Linda George and Milanese Masala with appropriate and specific direction to the original content.