Chock full of political nuts

11 April 2008 at 5:45 pm 4 comments

Ciao Bloggisti!

This week I feel kinda poopy. Had a bit of the stomach flu over the weekend and didn’t even want to turn the computer on. The only exciting thing that happened was that we chose our kitchen furniture for the new house. : ) Last year we moved into our place which underwent major Money Pit renovations. It’s liveable now but we’re still using the old kitchen. So we’re finally finishing things up and maybe, just maybe by the end of the summer I will have my dream kitchen. Btw, does anyone know anything about professional-style ranges? We don’t know where to begin looking. Anyhoo, while we were in the town of the kitchen store, we had a snack at a really cute, design-y wine bar. Good service, nice piadina with prosciutto crudo and rucola. Odd to find a place like that in the middle of Brianza. But I was already feeling kinda pooped and didn’t even think to take pictures of the place for y’all. And speaking of poopiness, I’m going to talk about Italian politics. How’s that for a segue?

As most of you must know by now, this weekend is the Italian General Election. It’s been a pretty ho-hum campaign for Italian standards but I managed to find some interesting and outrageous articles, soundbites and posters. Here is my election roundup:

“Mr. Ferrara’s campaign seems a cry for life in a country steeped in death and decline. Still, the campaign can be surreal. When a health inspection found that an illegal, late-term abortion had been performed on a fetus with Klinefelter’s Syndrome, whose symptoms include small testicles and large breasts, Mr. Ferrara said that was no grounds to abort. He said he, too, might have the syndrome — and anyone who doubted him could take a look.” If you’re curious here’s what Ferrara looks like (dressed, of course!)

  • The outrageously offensive poster from conservative, secessionist and anti-immigration party Lega Nord:

Translation: They were victims of immigration and now they’re living on reserves. Think about it.” WTF!!!

  • A funny albeit grotesque article from the Toronto Star on the Babe Quotient in Italian politics. A choice excerpt on the lack of good-looking female politicians on the left:

Among the worthy women of the left – one of the best-looking is transgender Refounded Communist deputy Vladimir Luxuria.” Sad but true.

And of course, since it’s Friday, I can’t forget about music. Today we have a special Election edition of Disco 2000. Oh what a selection I have for you today!! You’ll be humming the tunes for years to come.

The first is about the centre-left party Partito Democratico and its leader Walter Veltroni. The unofficial anthem is a takeoff on the Village People’s YMCA and is called “I’m PD” (even if they sing “I AM PD”). After seeing the video, I’m sure you can understand why the Village People protested against the improper use of their fine song.

Très hokey and cheesy but not as vomit-inducingly bad as this piece of… of…. musical poo. Silvio Berlusconi‘s official campaign song, “Meno Male Che Silvio C’è” (Thank Goodness for Silvio) was specifically made to incite feelings of pride and hope in Italy’s future with our pal Silvio. A future of ice cream and call centres. Yes, thank goodness for Silvio!!

My ears!! My eyes!! After seeing those videos I don’t know if I’ll be well enough to vote this weekend. Wish me luck!

Buon weekend and happy voting !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Entry filed under: Cavolate, Disco 2000, Italy, Music, Politics. Tags: , .

Picture it! Have I Told You Lately That We Need To Go Out Sans Kids

4 Comments Add your own

  • 1. mentalmosaic  |  12 April 2008 at 11:35 am

    Sorry you’re not feeling well. Kick that flu to the curb!

    Thanks for sharing this political info, although I know from past experience that I’m gonna have YMCA in my head all weekend. That song doesn’t have a hook, it has talons!

    Italian politics is all new to me, but your blog post title sums it up well.

    ~Tui

    Thanks Tui. Well, if you don’t want YMCA in your head may I suggest an antidote. How about “Funky Town” or “Ma Na Ma Na”? Let me know if it works 😉

    Reply
  • 2. Beatriz  |  12 April 2008 at 2:23 pm

    Thank you for posting this, I needed to laugh at the sad state of politics. I do not know enough about Italian politics yet, but I am saturated already.

    Glad to be of help! In times like these, laughter is the best medicine.

    Reply
  • 3. Joanne  |  13 April 2008 at 12:15 am

    There is a pretty scathing article in the Independent, the title is *The return of a political comedian* here’s the link
    http://www.independent.co.uk/opinion/leading-articles/leading-article-the-return-of-a-political-comedian-808173.html
    sigh

    Wow! Pretty harsh stuff. Thanks for the link. Well, the only thing we can do now is wait for the results and pack our bags for Canada if it turns for the worse 😉

    Reply
  • 4. Cherie  |  15 April 2008 at 5:45 pm

    So glad I came across your blog. Liked your photo meme from the other day – I too love Anthony Bourdain and Gilmore Girls!
    Am looking forward to future posts. Hope you feel better!

    Hi Cherie! Thanks for the kind words. I’m feeling much better now. What can I say? Great minds think alike!

    Reply

Leave a comment

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


MyFreeCopyright.com Registered & Protected
April 2008
S M T W T F S
 12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
27282930  

Pages

Blog Stats

  • 136,133 hits
Expat Women - Helping Women Living Overseas

Bookmark Milanese Masala

© Linda George and Milanese Masala, 2008-2009. Unauthorized use and/or duplication of this material without express and written permission from this blog’s author and/or owner is strictly prohibited. Excerpts and links may be used, provided that full and clear credit is given to Linda George and Milanese Masala with appropriate and specific direction to the original content.