Happy Birthday John!!

9 October 2008 at 12:08 pm 3 comments

Ciao Bloggisti!

 

Today is the 68th anniversary of the birth of one of my favourite artists, John Lennon. I cannot even begin to describe how much he and his music influenced me and how much his presence is missed.

 

 

This year I was lucky enough to visit his hometown, Liverpool, as I mentioned in June. It was amazing to wander around his old stomping grounds, see his childhood home, kiss the ground of the church hall where he met Paul McCartney, etc. 

 

So, to celebrate good ole Johnny’s birthday, I’ve been listening to his music and watching funny clips all morning. It’s put me in such a good mood that I’d like to share the love with all my friends in the blogosphere!

 

This first video is from a bizarre 1964 Swedish press conference. John is presenting his book “In His Own Write” along with his four friends George Parasol, Ringo Stone and Paul McCharmly.  The interviewer is clueless and John and George are quite yummy, don’t you think?

 

 

 

The next one is one of my favourite solo songs, “Nobody Told Me“. It’s a fun video featuring John, Yoko, Sean Lennon (happy birthday to you, too!), a Canadian flag and Jack Palance (?).

 

 

So, what are your favourite John Lennon songs? What do you think he would be doing today if he were alive?

Entry filed under: Disco 2000, Entertainment, Liverpool, Music, The Beatles.

My new love! Around the world in one city

3 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Michelle  |  9 October 2008 at 4:43 pm

    It’s Sean Lennon’s birthday as well…and mine! I remember I was about 10 when he died, and I just cried and cried. I always think about him on his (my) birthday. 🙂 Michelle

    Well, happy birthday to you too!! 🙂 I was in NYC on Oct 9 1992 and on our way back from hanging out at Strawberry Fields in Central Park, we walked past the Dakota Building. A guy wearing pink jeans walking in the opposite direction caught my eye. When I looked up I saw that it was Sean Lennon! I wanted to yell out “Happy Birthday” but thought better of it. It was pretty cool, though.

    Reply
  • 2. Sierra  |  9 October 2008 at 7:32 pm

    I adored John Lennon. I have a picture of him up at work with a a one of his quotes, “Time you enjoyed wasting, is not wasted”
    I love “Instant Karma” and I sing it quite a bit when the need arises. Today, I think he’d still be a prolific writer, singer and activist. He had too much vision to be anything but a sensation.
    Thanks for that great post.

    Such a positive song! I listened to it this morning. Yeah, I think John would have put both Bono and Bob Geldof out of work. His intelligence, talent and charisma still resonate today.

    Reply
  • 3. Val  |  15 October 2008 at 4:57 pm

    John and George are delicious in that one.

    I am warning you with peace and love, don’t tempt me anymore by mentioning those two!!
    Ah, what I would give for a time machine programmed for London, 1964.

    Reply

Leave a comment

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


MyFreeCopyright.com Registered & Protected
October 2008
S M T W T F S
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
262728293031  

Pages

Blog Stats

  • 136,133 hits
Expat Women - Helping Women Living Overseas

Bookmark Milanese Masala

© Linda George and Milanese Masala, 2008-2009. Unauthorized use and/or duplication of this material without express and written permission from this blog’s author and/or owner is strictly prohibited. Excerpts and links may be used, provided that full and clear credit is given to Linda George and Milanese Masala with appropriate and specific direction to the original content.